Thursday, December 6, 2007

Nick Lowe's 'Jesus' Resurrected

As a huge Nick Lowe fan, I just have to pass this along!
reprinted from

Story by: Eric Davidson

Nick Lowe's 'Jesus' Resurrected

Nick Lowe's brilliant 1978 debut, Jesus Of Cool, is finally getting the reissue treatment, coming out February 19 on Yep Roc. Jesus took the rootsy pub rock of Lowe's mid-'70s band Brinsley Schwarz, and added the zing of the new wave scene Lowe helped foster—he produced the Damned's debut single, widely considered the first British punk record, and many other records/demos of the era, notably Elvis Costello And The Attractions' early classics. Of course, all American labels noticed was the possibility of the title offending someone's mom in Missouri, so Lowe was forced to change the name of the record to the equally apt Pure Pop For Now People, which also contained a slightly altered track listing. So for this reissue, Yep Roc has restored the original sequence, added 10 rare bonus tracks (including the original version of Lowe's only U.S. top 40 hit, "Cruel To Be Kind"), more detailed liner notes (since a who's who of '70s Brit new wave scene musicians played on the record) and a new essay from British rock writer Will Burch. They're even offering the set in a double-vinyl version, a deserving deluxe treatment for a record that's been out of print for more than 20 years and was never officially available online.

Tracklist For Jesus Of Cool:
01. Music for Money
02. I Love the Sound of Breaking Glass
03. Little Hitler
04. Shake and Pop
05. Tonight
06. So It Goes
07. No Reason
08. 36 Inches High
09. Marie Provost
10. Nutted by Reality
11. Heart of the City (Live)
12. Shake That Rat*
13. I Love My Label*
14. They Called It Rock*
15. Born a Woman*
16. Endless Sleep*
17. Halfway to Paradise*
18. Rollers Show*
19. Cruel To Be Kind (Original Version)*
20. Heart of the City*
* bonus track

2008 Hotel Congress Record Festival

If you are in the neighborhood, be sure to stop by!

2008 Hotel Congress Record Festival
- FREE to the public!
January 12, 2008
9:00 am to 3:00 pm

It’s an entire festival of records and music stuff — Congress is partnering up with some of the best dealers and merchants to create a total paradise to the music geek, whether your passion is records, vintage gear, musical instruments or collectible goods. This special day will feature tons of rare/new/used/collectible vinyl, vintage turntables/speakers/receivers, music-related merch and more. We’ll have guest DJs throwing down their gems all day and free vinyl raffles and gift card drawings to spread the love. This event is FREE!

…featuring independent dealers and merchants including:

Zia Records
Toxic Ranch
Twist & Shout
Stereo Hospital
Jad Jams
Revolver Records

Tickets: FREE