Saturday, September 7, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

 from our friends at

This Week's Bestselling Vinyl Records At SoundStageDirect

1. Nine Inch Nails - Hesitation Marks
2. Allman Brothers Band - Eat A Peach
3. Billy Joel - 52nd Street
4. Billy Joel - An Innocent Man
5. Pink Floyd - The Wall
6. Fleetwood Mac 1969-1972 (Box Set)
7. Billy Joel - Glass Houses
8. Earth, Wind, & Fire - That's The Way Of The World
9. Neko Case - The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight... (Deluxe Version)
10. Creedence Clearwater Revival - Chronicle (The 20 Greatest Hits)

New Releases & Featured Vinyl Records
Can't Get Enough by The Rides
King Of Rock by RUN DMC
Solid by Grant Green
Rega RP6 Turntable - Ortofon 2M Black Cartridge (Gloss Black) by Rega Turntables
The Traveler - Black (No Cartridge) (1st Generation) by VPI Traveler
Higher! (On Sale) by Sly & The Family Stone
Drumgasm by Zach Hill, Janet Weiss, Matt Cameron
Chocolate City by Parliament
Elephant by The White Stripes

from our friends at

Clash - Hits Back

Includes a foldout exclusive poster and printed innersleeves. All tracks remastered from original tapes to audiophile quality.

The Clash Hits Back features 32 of the band's iconic tracks, across a 3LP set. The tracklisting is sequenced from the band's legendary Brixton Fairdeal show in 1982 and contains the best studio recordings of the full set, plus 8 additional iconic tracks. It comes with the original setlist, handwritten by Joe Strummer which he would tape to the back of his Telecaster before each gig.

"Every show was different. Joe would spend a lot of time composing the running order, considering dynamics, emotional impact and the key the songs were in. This record is based on Joe's setlist from The Casbah Club UK Tour, Brixton Fairdeal, 10th July 1982". Mick, Paul & Topper.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Printed innersleeves
  • 60x60 cm poster

Clash - Box Set

Luxury box set edition contains the albums Clash, Give Em Enough Rope, London Calling, Sandinista & Combat Rock + stencil sheet
 Includes the following LP's:

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Flight case styled box with lift-off top
  • D.I.Y. Stencil 
from our friends at Relapse


Special Pack (GLOW IN THE DARK VINYL!!!)

Mailorder Exclusive Special Pack is LTD to 300 and Includes:
  • Neon yellow glow in the dark LP
  • Snake t shirt on yellow
  • 22" x 22" black light album art poster
  • 7.5" x 7.5" Blotter sheet featuring COC album art
  • Digital download of entire album
  • Die cut sticker
Scheduled for release on 10/29/13

Pre-Order at Relapse

from our friends at BurningShed

Darkroom - Gravity's Dirty Work (double vinyl preorder)

The Darkroom duo of Michael Bearpark (No-Man, Henry Fool) and Andrew Ostler (Expert Sleepers) return to Burning Shed with their first double album.

Begun as an exploration of early 90's electronica and its many sources, the album developed from extended improvisations through meticulous editing, layering and post-production into a coherent suite of music.

The trademark blurring of guitars, synthesiser and found sounds moves from the heavenly Beck meets Talk Talk atmospherics of 'Karhupuisto / Beautiful Retreat' via the apocalyptic foot-on-monitor fuzz mayhem of the title track coda, before closing with the evocative Scandinavian jazz-electronica fusion of 'A Pair A Part'.

Also featuring Andrew Booker (No-Man, Henry Fool, Sanguine Hum) on percussion and Simon H. Fell (Keith Tippett, Derek Bailey, Lol Coxhill) on double bass, the album is mastered for all formats by Jon Astley (The Who, George Harrison, Tori Amos).

CD and limited edition gatefold double heavyweight (180g) LP plus bundle available; both with Carl Glover's unique artwork.

All LPs come with a high resolution lossless audio download code. All pre-orders come with signed postcard.

Pre-Order at BurningShed


from our friends at PolyVinylRecords

of Montreal - Lousy with Sylvianbriar

of Montreal's new album 'Lousy with Sylvianbriar' will be shipping in the coming weeks, but you'd better act fast if you want to snag a copy of the Early Bird Edition Sea Glass Green vinyl.

The pressing is limited to 1500 and only 1/3 of the copies are still available!

Recorded live to a 24-track tape machine during a frenetic three week period in Kevin Barnes' home studio, Lousy with Sylvianbriar was inspired by Dylan, the Stones, Neil Young, etc... and created with a new songwriting approach, a different recording method, and a fresh group of musicians.

You can pre-order the album in any of the following ways:
  • CD
  • Early Bird Edition Sea Glass Green vinyl (limited to 1500 copies)
  • "Sirens of Your Toxic Spirit" T-Shirt+MP3
  • Bundles available with new t-shirt design or past of Montreal albums 
Pre-orders ship Sept. 24. In stores October 8.

Pre-Order at PolyVinylRecords


Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees, Deerhoof, and More Offer Rare Vinyl For Charity Auction - Bid on test pressings and alternate 7-inch releases to aid VH1 Save the Music

Check out the auction at eBay


album cover art of the day:

Lavatory Unveils "Morbid Terror" Artwork, Track Listing