Monday, August 25, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

from our friends at NewOnVinyl


The Lion King: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is the original motion picture soundtrack for the 1994 Disney animated film, The Lion King. It contains songs from the film written by Elton John and Tim Rice, and a score composed by Hans Zimmer. Elton John has a dual role of performer for several tracks. Additional performers include Carmen Twillie, Jason Weaver, Rowan Atkinson, Whoopi Goldberg, Jeremy Irons, Cheech Marin, Jim Cummings, Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella, and Sally Dworsky. The album was released on May 30, 1994 on CD and audio cassette. The soundtrack was recorded in three different countries: the U.S., the U.K. and South Africa. It is the best-selling soundtrack album to an animated movie in the U.S. with over 7 million copies sold, with 4,934,000 copies sold in 1994.

Please Note: It is going to be a picture disc for sure, but the artwork is not yet comfirmed

Order at NewOnVinyl


The Little Mermaid: An Original Walt Disney Records Soundtrack is the soundtrack to the 1989 Disney animated feature film, The Little Mermaid. It contains the songs from the film written by Alan Menken and Howard Ashman, as well as the film's score composed by Alan Menken. The score was orchestrated by Thomas Pasatieri. The album received the Academy Award for Best Original Score and Best Original Song (for "Under the Sea"), and the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score.

The soundtrack was first released by Walt Disney Records on October 13, 1989 on both CD and cassette tape. On November 22, 1994 the album was included in a four-disc box set entitled The Music Behind the Magic: The Musical Artistry of Alan Menken, Howard Ashman & Tim Rice. The box set included work tapes and demos intertwined into the finished original soundtrack. The soundtrack (without the demos and work tapes) was re-released with different artwork, on October 14, 1997 and it was released internationally on October 31, 2000 in a double pack with The Little Mermaid II soundtrack.

Please Note: It is going to be a picture disc for sure, but the artwork is not yet comfirmed

Order at NewOnVinyl


FRIDAY THE 13th featuring the spectacular work of legendary composer Harry Manfredini. His talents are responsible for the one of the most iconic horror scores in film history. With a release of the album coming soon for fans to purchase and today being a Friday The 13th, Waxworks has released the full album cover artwork for the soundtrack.

Jay Shaw, the artist behind a ton of great Mondo releases, has created this great cover art with a fitting look into the eye of terror and Camp Crystal Lake. Liner notes for this release will be written by Sean Cunningham and Harry Manfredini.

180gram Deep murky green colored vinyl. Housed in a heavyweight Tip-on-old-style Gatefold jacket featuring full artwork by Jay Shaw. Includes a printed 12"x 12" Insert.

Order at NewOnVinyl


Cold Specks 'Neuroplasticity' Out Today

Cold Specks' critically acclaimed album Neuroplasticity is out today via Mute. Leading up to release, the album was revealed track by track across international premiere partners including Pitchfork, Stereogum, and Consequnce of Sound.  Cold Specks, who has been described as “a performer that nobody will want to miss in the years to come” (by A Music Blog Yea), has announced a full North American tour which is on sale now.

Cold Specks is a band led by Al Spx, the pseudonym of a Canadian singer-songwriter based in London, England. Her musical style has been described as doom soul and shows the influence of American deep south gospel with a strong goth streak. She released her debut album, I Predict a Graceful Expulsion, in 2012 to critical acclaim.

Cold Specks appears on two tracks of Moby's 2013 album Innocents, including the lead single, “A Case for Shame,” which was released in 2013. She also appears on the track “Bring the Sun” of Swans’ 2014 album To Be Kind.

Pick up a copy at Mute


Copeland 'You Are My Sunshine' Reissue Available from ShopRadioCast

You Are My Sunshine is Florida-based indie rock band Copeland's fourth full length album. It was originally released on October 14, 2008. The album marks Copeland's first release on the record label, Tooth & Nail. The album was released in a vinyl version on January 27, 2009. Giving it the full SRCvinyl treatment, "You Are My Sunshine" was pressed as a 180 gram double LP and was mastered for vinyl and lacquers created by by Stan Ricker. The album art will be displayed to its full capacity throughout a matte gatefold jacket and accompanied by an 11 x 22 insert.

Vinyl Details:
- Double180 Gram Vinyl
- Mastered for vinyl and lacquers created by Stan Ricker
- Matte Gatefold jacket, 11 x 22 Insert
- Artwork features original vinyl cover and the deluxe CD edition.

Vinyl Color:
- 180 Gram White (LTD 500)
- 180 Gram Root Beer Brown (LTD 1,500)

Order at ShopRadioCast



Debut LP from Philadelphia's Cassavetes.

Bringing rock and roll back at it’s more basic level, Cassavetes is not trying to reinvent the wheel. They are making music to play when you just want to hang out, sing along or even console yourself. Go ahead–it’s OK to have feelings, these guys want to to feel it all.

Reminiscent of early to mid 90′s rock bands such as the first Foo Fighters record, Sugar, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Dinosaur Jr, et al.

Started as a project between Josh Agran (Paint it Black, Pet Milk) and Pat McCunney (Kill the Man Who Questions, Clayton and Fulcrum) with Chris Sigda (Likers) and Jon Murphy (Sore Saints) joining later to round out the group.

Don’t be fooled by the hardcore/punk history of the band mates, but don’t forget it either. This band is equally heavy and soothing. Their sound is no doubt a cacophony of melodic rock and roll and pounding punk rock/hardcore, a sound that would go as easily in a sweaty basement as it would in a huge rock arena.

Free download Included. Limited to 500 on black vinyl.

Order at NoSleepRecords


‘Stage Fright’ Limited Edition PICTURE DISC Vinyl Release

LTD. EDITION 180g PICTURE DISC Vinyl SPECIAL Embossed glossy sleeve ORIGINAL ARTWORK by contemporary fine artist Lg White. Music by Simon Boswell of Michele Soavi’s classic movie Stage
Fright.  Release date 10th of October 2014.

Pre-Order HERE


vinyl news from our friends at Slyvinyl (look for their feed in the left column!):

Elephant Stone – The Three Poisons // Limited 500 Red & White Marbled Vinyl LP

Blue Sky Black Death – Noir // Limited to 500 Second Press 2 x 180g Black Vinyl LP


guess this guy is trying to buy all the records in the world (he'll pry mine from my dead hands!):

Brazilian bus magnate offers £23,000 for Birmingham vinyl collector's stock


a new record store in the great state of north carolina:

Music venue Reggie’s to add next-door record store


well put together feature:

The Origins Behind 15 Of Your Favourite Album Covers


Cleveland's rockin' to the tune of vinyl