Friday, June 29, 2012

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

yet more sex pistols news......

Rare Sex Pistols Acetate Sells For Over $19,000

by: Karen 'Gilly' Laney

Hearing that a Sex Pistols ‘God Save The Queen’ single sold for over $19,000 on eBay is probably enough to make sardonic singer Johnny Rotten’s middle fingers fly high. It’s hard to imagine that a band whose message was so anti-establishment merits such monetary value on an institutionalized auction site.

Get more details at


The Vaccines Reveal Tracklist and Album Cover Art

The Vaccines have revealed the tracklist and cover artwork for their upcoming second album 'The Vaccines Come Of Age,' which is scheduled for release on September 3. The album has been produced by Ethan Johns.

Speaking to NME about the album, the band's singer Justin Young has said: "I don't think there's any danger of us making the same record twice. But I think anything people found attractive about us the first time round has been retained. I'm really confident we've got the balance right."

1. No Hope
2. I Always Knew
3. Teenage Icon
4. All In Vain
5. Ghost Town
6. Aftershave Ocean
7. Weirdo
8. Bad Mood
9. Change Of Heart pt.2.
10. I Wish I Was A Girl
11. Lonely World


Dave Matthews Band New LP Announced

On September 11, RCA Records is set to release Dave Matthews Band’s new effort called 'Away From The World,' which the group recorded with Steve Lillywhite, who produced its first three studio albums.

The pre-order for Away From The World is underway now at The album will be available in CD, digital and vinyl formats. Deluxe versions of the CD and digital editions – containing three exclusive new live tracks – will also be available. A super-deluxe edition will include the deluxe CD, a DVD, a 2012 tour photo book and more. Individuals who pre-order any configuration of the album will receive five bonus tracks, recorded live on Dave Matthews Band’s 2012 summer tour, upon the release of Away From The World. Members of The Warehouse (the group’s official fan association) who pre-order the album will receive eight bonus tracks.

1.Broken Things
2.Belly Belly
6.The Riff
7.Belly Full
8.If Only
10.Snow Outside
11.Drunken Soldier


Van Morrison Announces New Album

The legendary Van Morrison is returning to Blue Note Records for a new studio album ‘Born To Sing: No Plan B’ which will be released on October 2. Morrison previously released the Grammy-nominated ‘What’s Wrong With This Picture’ on Blue Note in 2003.

Van says: "With most record companies being so corporate I am happy to be working with Don Was and the team at Blue Note. To have such a creative music person as the head of my recording label assures me that all the effort to write and record this new album will be rewarded with a music-based focus and marketing effort. I look forward to many recording projects with Don and Blue Note."

And says Blue Note head Don Was: "Over a career that spans decades, Van Morrison has developed a body of work that is unparalleled in its consistent excellence. He is one of the greatest singer/songwriter/musicians of all time. We are incredibly honored that he has chosen to record for the Blue Note label and look forward to many fruitful years together."

1. Open The Door (To Your Heart)
2. Going Down To Monte Carlo
3. Born To Sing
4. End Of The Rainbow
5. Close Enough For Jazz
6. Mystic Of The East
7. Retreat And View
8. If In Money We Trust
9. Pagan Heart
10. Educating Archie


album cover art of the day:

MAIDEN UNITED: 'Across The Seventh Sea' Track Listing, Cover Artwork Revealed

MAIDEN UNITED, the all-acoustic IRON MAIDEN tribute project featuring Damian Wilson (THRESHOLD, HEADSPACE) and Ruud Jolie (WITHIN TEMPTATION), has revealed the track listing and cover artwork for the upcoming album, "Across The Seventh Sea".

"Across The Seventh Sea" will be released in September on CD, limited-edition vinyl and as digital download.

Read the rest at Blabbermouth


Pre Order Sigur Ros 'Varud 10″' on Limited Vinyl

To coincide with their summer tour, Sigur Ros is releasing a limited edition 10″ titled "Varud." The 10″ is limited to only 1,500 copies and is due out August 21st.

Order the new Sigur Ros album, "Valtari" with Varud LTD 10″ at Shop Radio Cast


from bob at


The Clearing & The Final Epoch
Relapse Records
Release: 14 August 2012

For the better part of a decade Chicago’s Locrian have been creating sprawling, blackened drone masterpieces. With ‘The Clearing’ (previously release in late 2011 on vinyl only) Locrian’s signature sound of ominous crescendos mixed with powerful atmospherics and pulverizing tension reached its highest point to date, earning the record glowing reviews across the board from Decibel Magazine to Pitchfork. Locrian achieve what many bands set out for, but few accomplish: making truly terrifying music without sounding campy, contrived or corny. Now renamed ‘The Clearing/The Final Epoch’ the record is finally available in CD form complete with a full second CD consisting of almost an hour of rare and unreleased material. Limited edition first pressing comes housed in a gorgeous mini “tip-on” gatefold LP package.