Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

lots of great vinyl, from lots of great sources!:

Jimi Hendrix - Live At Woodstock - Vinyl 3-LP

Live at Woodstock is a posthumous live album by Jimi Hendrix released on July 6, 1999. The album documents Hendrix's performance with his band Gypsy Sun and Rainbows at Woodstock Festival on August 18, 1969. Many of the tracks on this album were released in 1994 on Woodstock. Apart from the cover medley of "Gypsy Woman" with "Aware Of Love" (both songs by The Impressions) and his original, "Mastermind", which were sung by rhythm guitarist Larry Lee, Live at Woodstock contains the full set played by the band. The recording, sound mix and the 1999 remix were completed by Eddie Kramer, who has pointed out that the conditions were primitive; in view of that, the result has been acclaimed, though the radical editing results in the group sound being reduced to a three piece of Hendrix, Cox and Mitchell. Lee, as noted above, and the two percussionists are essentially edited out of the mix. The original recording of the complete performance can be heard on several bootleg releases and the full group is clearly audible, notably on "Foxey Lady" and Voodoo Child (Slight Return), where the volume of the two percussionists and Lee's guitar are noticeably a part of the whole.

Track Listings

1. Introduction
2. Message to Love
3. Hear My Train a Comin'
4. Spanish Castle Magic
5. Red House
6. Lover Man
7. Foxey Lady
8. Jam Back at the House
9. Izabella
10. Fire
11. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
12. Star Spangled Banner
13. Purple Haze
14. Woodstock Improvisation
15. Villanova Junction
16. Hey Joe

Get your copy at MusicRecordShop


from our friends at

Two Get Up Kids Vinyl Reissues

Workhorse Records will be reissuing two Get Up Kids albums on vinyl, “Eudora” and “On A Wire” for a September 17th release date! You are able to pre order now at Shop Radio Cast. Remember, if you want one of the albums we offer $2.99 pre order media mail shipping and only $3.99 if you want to pick both up! Do so now:

The Get Up Kids – On a Wire LP
The Get Up Kids – Eudora 2XLP

Also available from Get Up Kids:
The Get Up Kids – There Are Rules LP


Foghat - Fool For The City 

Fool For The City (1975) was Foghat s breakthrough album, earning a double platinum certification for over 2 millioncopies sold. The rock classic features the huge “Slow Ride” amongst a killer batch of often criminally overlooked classics.  The 2013 LP reissue is the first since release, on colored 180g audiophile vinyl with full lyrics inner bag and download card.

Available HERE

Heart Shaped Beatles Vinyl Records

Red colored heart shaped 7 inch vinyl. SIDE ONE - Love Me Do SIDE TWO - PS. I Love You Limited to 500 copies worldwide. An awesome collectible, if you can find it.  Supposed to be available via Amazon UK.


Escape from New York – Orange Vinyl

Exclusively re-mastered for this vinyl release including 6 tracks that never made it into the original film. John Carpenter not only directed Escape From New York but also composed and recorded all of its music too. This score sounds as fresh today as it did when it was first released. Laden with brooding electronic pulses, flashes of Krautrock and healthy dose of nu disco ensures that this soundtrack sounds as happy on the dance floor as it is in your headphones.

Exclusive cover art by Jay Shaw (aka Iron Jaiden) one of the most in demand poster artists working today, his recent work has been selling out in minutes creating a huge demand on the aftermarket. Jay is heavily influenced by the abstract posters of the polish film industry and is not afraid to experiment with his work.

Order HERE


Dr. Dog To Release New Album, B-Room, on ANTI- October 1st.

Philadelphia’s Dr. Dog will release their new album entitled B-Room Oct. 1st on Anti-. Showcasing some of their most mature, streamlined and soulful writing to date, the record is the culmination of a complete overhaul of the band’s writing and recording process, which finds them in a new self-built studio, writing songs live in rehearsal, and using the rock solid groove of the band, honed through workmanlike touring, as a powerful compositional tool.

B-Room, in its purest form, is a soul album. It may be obvious as the first track opens with the Gamble and Huff inspired, “The Truth.” But as the album progresses the music continues to take on a soulfulness that is vibrant in its simplicity.  As McMicken put it, “The hallmark of soul music for me is the arrangements are simple rather than virtuosic, and that the sound creates a feeling that is intuitive rather than intellectual.”

The story begins with jackhammers instead of guitars. After ending the lease at home studio “Meth Beach” where they had been headquartered for the past eight years, the musicians took on the
commitment of constructing an entirely new recording space within a now defunct silversmith mill.  As the band’s bassist-vocalist Toby Leaman put it, “The whole process of recording really started with building the studio.”

As the band now understands, making a record is a lot like doing construction. Both require a similar amount of frustration, intensity, and cohesion. By building a space first and releasing all of that emotion, the band was then free to engage in their creative process without the expectation or preconception that they admittedly had brought into other sessions. Recorded primarily in live takes, the songs seamlessly fuse the spontaneity of the band’s live performances with the intricacy of their kaleidoscopic composition. Both Leaman and guitarist Scott McMicken credit their sonic evolution with relying less on the pre-produced demos and more with a reliance on the musicians surrounding them.

Pre-Order B-Room HERE



Pre-Order Wrongdoers In Various Bundles At Merch Now

Norma Jean will release their new studio album, Wrongdoers on August 6th through Razor & Tie.  The album was recorded at Covenant Recording Studios in Kansas City with producer Josh Barber and was mixed by Jeremy Griffith.   Wrongdoers is the band?s sixth full length album and their second Razor & Tie album to date. The album is the follow-up to the band?s critically acclaimed 2010 release, Meridional.

Available items include t-shirts, the digipak edition of the album, a poster as well as limited edition vinyl pressed in purple, blue/grey swirl and clear.  There is also an exclusive limited edition special 3.5" vinyl featuring B-sides "AHHH! SHARK BITE AHHH!" and "Chug On Three."

The Atlanta based, Grammy-nominated act has sold over 416,000 combined units in the United States and are esteemed for their aggressively artful sound which has garnered critical praise around the world as evidenced by the overwhelmingly positive press that greeted the band?s previous R&T album Meridional which Alternative Press called, ?Norma Jean?s first true masterpiece.?. A.P. also named it one of their Top 10 ?Essential Albums of 2010? along with naming Cory Brandan ?Best Vocalist? in their MVR?s (Most Valuable Rockers) of 2010.

Pre-Order Wrongdoers now in various bundles HERE


Vinyl-only label Demon Records release exclusive reissue of The Beat’s ‘Wha’appen?’



John Dwyer's Coachwhips Reissue Debut Album on Vinyl


St. Louis Record Company Goes Back To Basics With All Vinyl Format


Nirvana: 20th-Anniversary Edition Of 'In Utero' Due In September


Thin Lizzy: 'Thunder And Lightning' Deluxe-Edition Reissue Due In September


Black Oak Arkansas Announce New Album and Tour


Nilsson, ‘The RCA Albums Collection’ – Album Review


The 10 Most Infamous Band Feuds In Rock History


album cover art of the day:

BROKEN HOPE: 'Omen Of Disease' Cover Artwork Unveiled


album cover art of the day, part two:

Deimos Reveals "Beyond" Album Artwork


album cover art of the day, part three:

Sabaton: 'Swedish Empire Live' Cover Artwork, Track Listing Revealed


and from our friends at