Friday, July 18, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

upcoming releases from our friends at MusicOnVinyl


Disco Volante is the second studio album by American experimental Rock band Mr. Bungle. Released in 1995, it is considered by many to be the most experimental of all their albums, picking up inspiration from a wide variety of musical styles including Death Metal, Techno, '50s space age Pop, musique concrète and Italian avant-garde. Faith No More's vocalist Mike Patton also uses a great number of vocal effects boxes and samples throughout the album.

The album's title refers to the name of the yacht of the same name featured in the James Bond film Thunderball. Disco Volante has been well received by critics, being called a 'totally original and new musical style, and an album that sounds like nothing that currently exists'. The track "Desert Search For Techno Allah" is described as 'a middle eastern Techno number that has to be heard to be believed.' This is a band whose sole purpose is to break all the pre-existing rules of music and doesn't think twice about taking chances.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • Insert 
  • First pressing of 2000 numbered copies on crystal clear vinyl


Formed in 1967 by former Motions guitarist Robbie van Leeuwen, Shocking Blue was joined by Cor van der Beek (drums), Klaasje van der Wal (bass) and Mariska Veres as lead vocalist. In 1969 and 1970, the group set the airwaves crackling and enjoyed a worldwide chart success with "Venus" (which incorporated the help of studio musician Cees Schrama of Casey & The Pressure Group [MOVLP1132]), followed by several other hit singles.

In 1972, they released their 6th album Attila, a solid Pop album written entirely by Van Leeuwen, anchored by Mariska's powerful vocals. Her incredible range and control is at times compared with Jefferson Airplane's singer Grace Slick. Noteworthy tracks on Attila are "Rock In The Sea", album opener "Rattler" and the moody "Wait". This album is definitely worth picking up for a comprehensive view on Holland's biggest export product's early '70s output.

The Music On Vinyl reissue contains 4 exclusive bonus tracks!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • Including 4 bonus tracks: "Eve And The Apple", "When I Was A Girl", "Everything That's Mine" & "I Saw You In June"


On The Blue Yusef Lateef (1968), listeners get an amazing chapter from the late '60s, an amazing period when everything in the world of Jazz was changing. Lateef was big on concept recordings. This album examines all the different ranges of emotion contained within the blues genre. With a band that included Detroit Jazz gods Roy Brooks on drums and Kenny Burrell on guitar, Blue Mitchell on trumpet, Hugh Lawson on piano, Sonny Red on alto, Bob Cranshaw on electric bass, and a very young Cecil McBee on acoustic bass, you get the idea that Lateef was after something different.

Lateef performs on not only his tenor and flute, but bamboo and pneumatic flutes, tamboura, koto, and others; Lateef was exploring the outer reaches of the blues as they might appear and appeal to Eastern as well as Western cultures. The Blue Yusef Lateef is one wild album. In sound, it is the very best the '60s had to offer in terms of experimentation and accessibility. This is blues you can dance to, but also meditate to and marvel at.  On 180 gram audiophile vinyl



The Vinyl Factory is excited to again collaborate AIR to release nine intoxicating new tracks on this beautiful vinyl-only limited edition - the duo's first new material since 2012.

Jean-Benoît Dunckel and Nicolas Godin were originally commissioned to produce the soundtracks for the Palais de Beaux Arts in Lille as part of their Open Museum 2014 project. And the duo's compositions have been inspired by four contemporary artists featured in the museum – Linda Bujoli, Mathias Kiss, Xavier Veilhan and Yi Zhou – whose artwork is included in the limited edition.

These stirring soundscapes will be played from eight loudspeakers suspended from the glass roof in the atrium at the very heart of the museum, immersing visitors in a three-dimensional musical experience – using the software SPACES developed at the INA-GRM by Emmanuel Favreau – in which the music slows down, speeds up and responds to the characteristics of the space.

Having previously collaborated with The Vinyl Factory for their re-imagined soundtrack to classic French film Le Voyage Dans La Lune, AIR have built a reputation for an arresting, cinematic sound, and list soundtracks for The Virgin Suicides and Lost In Translation in their impressive discography.

Speaking of the decision to invite AIR to reinvent the works of the museum, curator Régis Cotentin says: “This choice was a fairly obvious way: the music of AIR inspires mental images, suggests a fantasy film… This is music that creates images and stimulates the imagination.”

* Nine new experimental and ambient tracks by AIR
* Available exclusively on this vinyl-only release
* Two 180-gram clear vinyl records
* Bespoke gatefold sleeve
* Two printed inner sleeves 
* Oversized fold-out duotone poster
* Limited edition of 1000 copies worldwide

Available HERE


Pioneer unveils back-to-basics PLX-1000 turntable


cool read:

Masters Of Their Domain: Welcome To 1979 Studio


Mac DeMarco to release demos from 2 and Salad Days on vinyl


The soundtrack to Troma’s Surf Nazis Must Die is finally being released on vinyl/


ATO, Newport Folk Festival Announce Vinyl Partnership


Scott Walker and Sunn O))) Collaborative LP 'Soused' To Be Issued On Red Vinyl


VINYL REVIEW: The Story So Far – ‘Songs Of’


Ron Howard to Direct Beatles Documentary


The Seeds Celebrated with Documentary Featuring Iggy Pop, Bruce Johnston


GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 7/07 - 7/13, 2014

Vinyl Top 25
1. Jack White - Lazaretto
2. Sturgill Simpson - Metamodern Sounds In Country Music
3. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin III
4. First Aid Kit - Stay Gold
5. The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream
6. The Black Keys - Turn Blue
7. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II
8. Jason Isbell - Southeastern
9. Morrissey - World Peace... 10"
10. Beck - Morning Phase
11. Bon Iver - For Emma Forever Ago
12. Wolves In The Throne Room - Celestite
13. Bob Marley & The Wailers - Legend 30th Anniversary Edition
14. Lana Del Rey - Ultraviolence
15. Bon Iver - Bon Iver
16. Animal Collective - Feels
17. Sufjan Stevens - Illinois
18. The Shins - Chutes Too Narrow
19. Johnny Cash - With His Hot & Blue Guitar
20. Pixies - Indie Cindy
21. Courtney Barnett - The Double EP
22. Madvillain - Madvillainy
23. The Black Keys - Brothers
24. The National - High Violet
25. Neutral Milk Hotel - In The Aeroplane Over The Sea


album cover art of the day:

Details On New Album "The Darkest Road" Revealed By A Breach Of Silence