Friday, January 31, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

Pre-Order Real Estate's LP 'Atlas'

Atlas, the new album from Real Estate, was recorded over the summer and fall of 2013 with producer Tom Schick [Rufus Wainwright, Mavis Staples, Low], and the ten-song album will be preceded by the release of the single "Talking Backwards".

To commence the follow-up to their sophomore breakout, Days, founding members Martin Courtney (guitar/vocals), Matt Mondanile (guitar) and Alex Bleeker (bass/vocals) were joined by new full-time members, Jackson Pollis(drums) and Matt Kallman (keyboard) and producer Schick this past summer at Wilco's Chicago studio, The Loft.  Nineteen songs were recorded in all over a two-week period and the result is the band¹s most collaborative, richly detailed album to date.  2011¹s Days not only earned Real Estate their second consecutive Pitchfork Best New Music, they also played a Tiny Desk concert for NPR, appeared at major festivals like Coachella and Pitchfork, and toured with The Shins and Kurt Vile.

The cover art of Atlas features a detail taken from Alexander's Mural, an iconic North Jersey landmark created by artist Stefan Knapp that once hung on the side of Alexander¹s department store for over twenty years, not far from the band's hometown of Ridgewood, NJ.

Pre-order the album, Atlas, and receive an instant MP3 download of "Talking Backwards."

  • Limited Edition 
  • Heavyweight 180gram Maroon Vinyl
  • Exclusive 7" Featuring Two Non-Album Songs; "The Chancellor" b/w "Recreation"
  • Gate-Fold Debossed Sleeve
  • Postcard Featuring 'Alexander's Mural' (Paramus, NJ - USA)
Pre-Order HERE

Pre-Order Wild Beast's 'Present Tense'  

Present Tense is a dramatically new album – taking cues from the most intense and effervescent of 1980s and 1990s electronic sound but rethinking and retooling these elements with exquisite detail for the 21st century.

Longer in creation than any of its predecessors, Hayden Thorpe, Tom Fleming, Chris Talbot and Ben Little took almost a full year away from touring to conceive and construct the eleven tracks of Present Tense. Written in London and recorded at Konk Studios in London and at The Distillery in Bath, the band worked in close collaboration with co-producers Lexxx and Brian Eno protégé Leo Abrahams to create a record of astounding intricacy, coherence and emotional resonance.

Alongside its breathtaking leap in production, Present Tense also finds the band at the peak of their considerable songwriting powers – each one of the album’s eleven tracks illuminating the precious, tender, sad and funny moments of modern life in their trademark plain-spoken poetics.

Already rightly considered to be one of contemporary Britain's most innovative and vital bands, Present Tense sees the group's ever-restless collective muse lead them to remarkable new heights - boldly embracing new production techniques and songwriting forms whilst retaining the thrilling idiosyncrasies that have made them so beloved over the course of three beguiling and beautiful albums to date.

Deluxe LP comes with a 12" which features remixes of Wanderlust by The Field & Factory Floor.

Pre-Order HERE


from our friends at Slyvinyl

Sculpture – Plastic Infinite // Animating 7″ Picture Disc

Silver Arm – He of the Slow Creep EP // Limited Edition White Vinyl 10″


from our friends at VinylCollective

Pre Order 311 Stereolithic Vinyl311 – Stereolithic 2XLP 

Up now for pre order is the new album from 311 “Stereolithic” which is due out March 11th. You can pre order now at the link below as well as pick up other 311 goodies here:

311 – Stereolithic 2XLP
311 – Grassroots LP
311 – Uplifter 2XLP
311 – Soundsystem 2XLP
311 – Music 2XP
311 – 311 LP
311 – Universal Pulse LP


new releases from our friends at MusicOnVinyl


Three years after releasing her debut Immortal (1996), Beth Hart released Screamin' For My Supper to great critical acclaim. Beth produced the album herself with help from longtime collaborator and bass player Tal Herzberg, resulting in a mature, fully formed record. "LA Song" made it to a single. Four years later, Beth Hart would release Leave The Light On, of which Music On Vinyl released the only vinyl issue as well

This is the first vinyl issue of this wonderful album! To celebrate the occasion, we've pressed it on a double LP with a beautifully etched D-side. Truly collectible!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Insert
  • Available on vinyl for the first time
  • Etched D-side


The Church were founded in 1980 in Canberra, Australia. Their jangly guitar Pop, combined with emotional and smart lyrics, proved an immediate smash 'down under' and beyond.

Their 7th album Starfish was recorded in Los Angeles with producers Waddy Wachtel and Greg Ladanyi, both longtime veterans of the L.A. studio scene. When released in 1988, it rightfully became the breakthrough of The Church in the United States. The album peaked at #41 in the Billboard 200, no small feat for a non-US act. "Under The Milky Way" was released as a single and nearly topped the Mainstream Rock charts, topping at second place, and reached #26 on the Billboard Hot 100. "Reptile" was released as a second single.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • Insert 


Ministry successfully combined industrial Heavy Metal and electronic beats with a Punk attitude. Drawing heavy on the sampler, synthesized sounds and thick layers of distorted guitars, this group preceded highly successful acts such as Fear Factory and Nine Inch Nails.

Their fourth album The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste (1989) followed up on their successful effort The Land Of Rape And Honey [MOVLP651]. When released, the album cracked the Billboard Top 200. It's proof that the fanbase of these guitar heavy synth slingers is quite sizeable, to say the least.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • insert

super article out of the great state of ny:

All Sales Vinyl - All hail the return of the mighty record album


vinyl news from the uk:

Mold records shop owner conquers vinyl frontier


and this guy is at it again:

Liverpoool record shop puts stock up for sale on eBay; 15,000 vinyl records listed


real cool article, well written:

Vinyl brings one listener back to the music


another great article and a sign of the time (written by a high schooler!)

Love of vinyl helps keep my passion for music alive


Cuban-American Programmers Build Vinyl-Collecting Social Network


Slint's Spiderland Gets Deluxe Box Set Reissue-Featuring bonus tracks, a book, and a documentary


Goblin's 'Amo non amo' Soundtrack Treated to Vinyl Reissue


Elton John Releasing Vegas Concert Film, 'Yellow Brick Road' Reissue (On Yellow Vinyl!)


album cover art of the day:

MASSACRE: 'Back From Beyond' Cover Artwork, Release Date Revealed