Monday, May 3, 2010

Music News & Notes

HAWKWIND will release their first new studio album for five years on June 21st

The new album called "Blood Of The Earth" will be released in three formats, a standard single disc edition, double CD edition (featuring bonus live tracks) and a double vinyl edition.

The tracklisting is as follows...
01. Seahawks
02. Blood Of The Earth
03. Wraith
04. Green Machine
05. Inner Visions
06. Sweet Obsession
07. Comfey Chair
08. Prometheus
09. You’d Believe It
10. Sentinel
11. Starshine (bonus song)

Record company Eastworld Recordings are also planning to reissue Hawkwind's back catalogue on colored vinyl.

Each release will be limited to 1,000 copies.


Slayer and Megadeth Road Music

Slayer and Megadeth are on the road together this summer on the American Carnage Tour and have announced they will each perform their 1990 albums 'Seasons in the Abyss' and 'Rust in Peace' in their entirety during their respective sets.

Seasons in the Abyss peaked at number 40 on the Billboard Album chart while Rust in Peace went to number 23. Both are considered landmarks of early-90's metal


Metallica Vinyl Coming Soon

Metallica will be re-releasing their sixth album, 'Load,' on vinyl. The release is scheduled for May 18 and will come in two editions, a two-LP gatefold cover and a 4-LP box pressed at 45 R.P.M. for maximum fidelity.


Ozzfest News

Ozzfest has announced their lineup for this year's six-date run. On the main stage will be Ozzy Osbourne, Motley Crue, Halford, Devildriver and Nonpoint. The second stage will have Black Label Society, Drowning Pool, Kataklysm, Kingdom of Sorrows, Goatwhore, Saviors and Skeletonwitch.


Del-Viking Gone

Norman Wright of the Del-Vikings passed away on Friday at the age of 72. Wright was a member of the original group when it formed by a group of U.S. Air Force members. Their first major hit, "Come Go With Me," had Wright singing lead while he took the bass part on their only other big one, "Whispering Bells."

Because of their military commitments, the group broke up soon after the records became hits but reformed in 1970 and were able to get a rerecorded version of "Come Go With Me" played on some stations. Wright would perform with the group on and off through the 90's.

Top 5 eBay Vinyl Record Sales - Week Ending 05/01/2010

1. LP - The Beatles "Sgt Pepper" Mono UK Pressing Complete - $6,122.80

2. 45 - Benny Cliff "Shake 'em Up Rock" / "The Breaking Point" Drift - $2,827.77

3. 45 - U2 "All I Want Is You" / "Unchained Melody" # K805 Australian Purple Vinyl - $2,680.00

4. LP - David Wiffen "At The Bunkhouse Coffeehouse" Canada - $2,606.00

5. LP - Rolling Stones MFSL Box Set SEALED - $2,500.00

More on this week's top 5 on Vinyl Record Talk,  or at  

Stop By For The Show!