Monday, July 7, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

from our friends at NewOnVinyl


Live At Fillmore West is the ultimate King Curtis live album, a brilliant confirmation of the saxophonist's place in popular music. This is the stuff of Soul legends that belongs in any record collection.

The album showcases three concerts he played with his band The Kingpins at the Fillmore West venue in San Francisco in March 1971. Those nights, the group supported Soul singer Aretha Franklin, as were they her backing band. Famed for their outstanding rhythmic interplay, the group of seasoned session men featured a.o. Cornell Dupree on guitar, Billy Preston on electric organ and Bernard 'Pretty' Purdie on drums, supported by the inimitable Memphis Horns.

Curtis rips through some of the biggest hits of the day including Stevie Wonder's "Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I'm Yours)" and Led Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love", transforming them into showcases for the group's soulful playing. Beautiful renditions of "A Whiter Shade Of Pale" and "I Stand Accused" are highlights, and full-throttle rockers like "Changes" and "Memphis Soul Stew" comprise the heart of the album.

Tragically only a week after its release, Curtis was stabbed to death outside his brownstone apartment in New York following an argument with two junkies. The day after he died the album peaked at No. 54 on the Billboard 200 album chart, his greatest success as a solo artist.

Order at NewOnVinyl


Undead is a live album by Ten Years After, recorded live at the small jazz club, Klooks Kleek, in London on May 14th 1968, The show combined Blues, Boogie and Jazz playing that merged more traditional Rock and Roll with 50s-style Jump Blues. Alvin Lee, Leo Lyons, Chick Churchill and Ric Lee together became one of the biggest club attractions in England. Their music knows no compromise - it's straight down the line. It's loud and tough - but honest. Undead captures the excitement and raw energy of the band's live performances.

When originally released in 1968, the album was only 38 minutes long, due to the timing constraints of vinyl. As the band's tunes were all pretty long, there were only five tracks on the original issue. The expanded edition of Undead contains 4 additional tracks of the performance and is available on vinyl for the very first time. The remastered audio is pressed on 180 gram audiophile vinyl and Side D is beautifully etched.

Order at NewOnVinyl


Comic actors John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd rightfully get credit for exposing many people to the music of Blues and R&B veterans. The soundtrack to their hugely successful musical comedy Blues Brothers was released on June 20, 1980 as the second album by the Blues Brothers Band, which also toured that year to promote the film.

Reissue of the legendary Soundtrack of "The Blues Brothers" by Music on Vinyl. Single LP. Limited edition on BLUE vinyl only 2000 copies. Release date: 2014-08-25

Order at NewOnVinyl


This beautiful limited edition vinyl for Quentin Tarantino’s latest film, Django Unchained. The vinyl includes 2 180-gram red splattered vinyl set in a double gatefold package

Tracks composed for the film are "100 Black Coffins" by Rick Ross and produced by and featuring Jamie Foxx, "Who Did That To You?" by John Legend, "Freedom" by Anthony Hamilton and Elayna Boynton, "Ancora Qui" by Ennio Morricone and Elisa. These four songs were all contenders for an Academy Award nomination in the Best Original Song category, but none of them were nominated.

Order at NewOnVinyl


Merge Reissuing Teenage Fanclub's Man-Made and Shadows LP's

On August 5, Merge will reissue Teenage Fanclub’s 'Man-Made' and 'Shadows,' two critically acclaimed albums never before available on LP in the US. These reissues continue our year-long 25th anniversary series of re-releasing classic albums from our back catalog each month throughout 2014.

Teenage Fanclub released 'Man-Made,' their Merge debut, in 2005. Recorded with John McEntire in Chicago, Man-Made is described by the band as “a medium-risk experiment—to cut ourselves off from what we knew, to be in a different type of city, on a different continent, to work with John, a different type of musician, an engineer with a particular sound, and to interact with whatever equipment he had at Soma: his drums, his amplifiers, his keyboards. The plan was to be somewhere truly new and deal with it, see how it worked out. We had never made a record this way before, and the prevailing circumstances at the time, the fact that we really had nothing to lose, made doing something slightly differently seem quite appealing.”

'Shadows' followed five years later. The band reveals how the recording process differed from the previous album: “Compared with Man-Made, this is a softer isolation, surrounded by fields and emptiness, and the live room at the studio, a converted barn, is filled with our equipment all mic’d up and ready to go. This set-up is how we approached the three records leading up to Man-Made, and we feel it suits us: a residential country location, close enough to drive but with sufficient distance from home to concentrate our minds on the job at hand.”

Both albums illustrate what SPIN magazine wrote of Teenage Fanclub: “Proof that youth is a state of mind you need never outgrow.”

'Man-Made' and 'Shadows' will be released on 180-gram vinyl, and each LP will include a download of the album plus two bonus tracks. Teenage Fanclub will return to the US in July for the first time since 2010 to play the Merge 25 Festival and the River Rocks Festival in New York.

'Man-Made' bonus tracks:
"Please Stay"
"Falling Leaf"

Preorders will ship to arrive on or around the release date of August 5th.

Pre-Order at Merge


Scale the Summit - The Migration

We've already sold through two pressings, but the riveting new album by SCALE THE SUMMIT -- recorded with and co-produced by Jamie King (BTBAM) -- is now available on vinyl once again! The third pressing comes in either green or white vinyl. Get it while you can! (Expected ship date: Nov. 1)

Comes in a sturdy 20-pt. recycled jacket with matte UV finish and includes a download code and a gatefold poster featuring expanded artwork by cover artist Duncan Storr.

Order at ProstheticRecords


Super Furry Animals 'Dark Days/Light Years' 

The Welsh psychedelic pop legends Super Furry Animals return with 'Dark Days/Light Years,' their ninth studio album. Where previous albums have seen the band experiment with extra instrumentation, this release is full of songs based on grooves rather than ensemble composition. The band's impish sense of humor remains, though, with track titles such as 'The Very Best Of Neil Diamond' and 'Moped Eyes' standing out. Also notable is Franz Ferdinand guitarist Nick McCarthy's guest appearance on the Kraftwerk-inspired 'Inaugural Trams', performing a German-language rap.

Limited Edition Double Vinyl

Order at RoughTradeRecords


from the uk:

Ten most valuable albums of all time - Some old records fetch £10,000, others - such as a Blur LP worth £70 - are fast risers


from the great state of texas:

Spinster Records Aims to Be More Than Just a Record Store


Marks Mothersbaugh's jukebox: Devo founder makes music for Mile High


Ian Gillan to Sing “Smoke On The Water” at Mass Guitar World Record Attempt


25 Things You Didn’t Know About ‘A Hard Day’s Night’