Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

Led Zeppelin Announces Deluxe Editions of ‘IV’ and ‘Houses of the Holy’ Details

The Led Zeppelin reissue campaign got off to an remarkable start in June 2014 as deluxe editions of 'Led Zeppelin,' 'Led Zeppelin II' and 'Led Zeppelin III' debuted in the top 10 of the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. The albums achieved similar international success with debuts near the top of the charts in more than a dozen territories, including Canada, France, Germany, Japan, and the United Kingdom.

For the second round, the band prepared the reissues of 'Led Zeppelin IV' and 'Houses Of The Holy.'  As with the previous deluxe editions, both albums have been newly remastered by guitarist and producer Jimmy Page and are accompanied by a second disc of companion audio comprised entirely of unreleased music related to that album.

The second round of reissues begins with one of the most artistically influential and commercially successful albums in the history of music, 'Led Zeppelin IV.' Released in November 1971, the album—which is officially untitled—defined the sound of rock music for a generation with ubiquitous anthems such as "Stairway To Heaven," "Rock And Roll," "Black Dog," and "When The Levee Breaks." The album was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999, has been certified 23x platinum by the RIAA. The 'Led Zeppelin IV' deluxe editions include unreleased versions of every song heard on the original album including alternate mixes of "Misty Mountain Hop" and "Four Sticks, " mixes of "The Battle Of Evermore" and "Going To California" heavy with guitar and mandolin, and the fabled, alternate version "Stairway To Heaven," mixed at the Sunset Sound Studio in Los Angeles which lets fans hear one of the most revered songs of all time as they have never heard it before.

The 11-million-selling follow up ‘Houses of the Holy,’ meanwhile, will feature seven unreleased tracks on the companion audio disc — including rough and working mixes for "The Ocean" and "Dancing Days," a guitar mix backing track for "Over The Hills And Far Away" and a version of "The Rain Song" without piano.

'Led Zeppelin IV' and 'Houses Of The Holy' will each be available October 28 from Atlantic/Swan Song in the following formats:

  • Single CD - Remastered album packaged in a gatefold card wallet.
  • Deluxe Edition (2CD) - Remastered album, plus a second disc of unreleased companion audio.
  • Single LP - Remastered album on 180-gram vinyl, packaged in a sleeve that replicates the LP's first pressing in exacting detail.
  • Deluxe Edition Vinyl (2LP) - Remastered album and unreleased companion audio on 180-gram vinyl.
  • Digital Download - Remastered album and companion audio will both be available.
  • Super Deluxe Boxed Set - This collection includes:
  • Remastered album on CD in vinyl replica sleeve. 
  • Companion audio on CD in card wallet featuring new alternate cover art. 
  • Remastered album on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve replicating first pressing.
  • Companion audio on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve with new alternate cover art. 
  • High-def audio download card of all content at 96kHz/24 bit. 
  • Hard bound, 80 page book filled with rare and previously unseen photos and memorabilia.


from our friends at NewOnVinyl


House of Pain, the Irish-American Hip Hop group really blossomed on its second album, Same As It Ever Was (1994). With this album, Everlast changed his style of rapping considerably and unveiled a much more distinctive and recognizable approach. Sounding twisted, damaged, and maniacal, Everlast grabs the listener’s attention and refuses to let go on such wildly entertaining fare as “Back From The Dead”, “Over There Shit” and “Runnin’ Up On Ya”.   Release on 2014-08-18
  •  180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  •  20th Anniversary Edition
  •  First pressing of 1000 numbered copies on Irish Green vinyl
Order at NewOnVinyl


Finally coming to vinyl. One of the greatest live concerts of Queen. Queen was on the verge breaking thru to becoming one of the best live bands ever. The two concerts that they gave in March and November of 1974 were truly legendary. The are coming out in 2 very nice variants.  
  • Limited Edition
  • LP 1: Live At The Rainbow, March ’74
  • LP 2: Highlights from Live At The Rainbow, November ’74 

Order at NewOnVinyl


Ghost is the official soundtrack, on the Milan Records label, of the 1990 Academy Award- and Golden Globe-winning film Ghost starring Patrick Swayze, Demi Moore and Whoopi Goldberg (who won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress for her role as "Oda Mae Brown" in this film) and Tony Goldwyn. The score was composed by Maurice Jarre. The album was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Original Score.

Order at NewOnVinyl



Deluxe Edition Reissue of Montreal, Canada's Sonic Avenues' debut full-length album! Reissued & Remastered with 2 additional bonus tracks. Out of print since 2010. Band now on Dirtnap Records. Members of The Steve Adamyk Band & more.

***PRE-ORDER for GREEN VINYL!!! (Limited to 100)

 Ships in Aug/Sept. Comes with download.

Order HERE

MURMURS - Bound 

Seattle, Washington's kings of crusty pop-punk are back with their first official full-length album. Last year saw the vinyl release of the bands' debut batch of songs titled, "Fly With The Unkindness". Well, Murmurs are back and are here to kick the goddamn door in with, "Bound". Drawing from earlier pop-punk influences (ranging from the East Bay to the Northwest), the band pushes further on with their dark, urgent & poppy melodic tones. All while churning it up with a chunk of fuzzed-out grunge rock, this time around.

If you weren't a believer before, then you will be now. An outstanding effort & one of our favorite records of the year, straight up. (Members of: Snuggle, Pipsqueak, No Hi-Fives To Bullshit, Transient & more.) Comes w/download.

*PRE-ORDER FOR COLORED VINYL on Turquoise/Teal Color vinyl! 

Limited to 100! (Shipping in August!)

Order HERE


Chopping Mall OST 

Available for the first time ever on vinyl

Remixed and remastered from the original master tapes

Available on 180 gram neon yellow with neon green haze vinyl, and 180 gram fluorescent pink vinyl

Housed in a heavyweight old-style tip on jacket with film laminate gloss finish

Liner notes from composer Chuck Cirino and Chopping Mall screen writer Steve Mitchell

12″X12″ art print insert included

Order at WaxWorkRecords


SUPERDRAG - Head Trip In Every Key  

Superdrag - 'Head Trip In Every Key' first pressing on vinyl ever. Clear colored vinyl. This is Superdrag's follow up to major label release, 'Regretfully Yours.' Produced by Jerry Finn (Green Day, Alkaline Trio, Blink 182). Double LP. Also available in various bundle options including addtion of demos/rarities record, 'Jokers W/ Tracers.'


Order HERE


Spacemen 3 Live Album from 1989 Gets Official Vinyl Release


for shits and giggles:

All 14 Weird Al Yankovic Album Covers as a Whiteboard Video