Friday, February 19, 2010

Vinyl Record News

KING DIAMOND Albums To Be Reissued On Colored Vinyl

Massacre Records will release new vinyl versions of six KING DIAMOND albums on March 26:

* The Spider's Lullabye (1995)
* The Graveyard (1996)
* Voodoo (1998)
* House Of God (2000)
* The Puppet Master (2003)
* Give Me Your Soul ... Please (2007)

These gatefold LPs are strictly limited and handnumbered. The six vinyls will be in different vinyl colors.


The Fall Readies its 28th Studio Album

Good news for the fans of Mr. Grumpy: Mark E. Smith and The Fall are ready to release a new album.

The British O.G. post-punk outfit returns with Your Future Is Our Clutter April 27 from Domino Records. The album's set to be released only digitally and on vinyl, and is their 28th studio album.


Minus the Bear Inks with Dangerbird

Minus The Bear is now kicking it like a wild donkey with Dangerbird Records.

The post-hardcore act inked a deal with the Silver Lake, Calif. label, and will release its still untitled album sometime this spring. The label debut, the act's fourth LP, follows up 2008's Planet of Ice.


Against Me Unveils Cover, Vague Release Date

Against Me has a cover completed and a vague indication of when its next album will turn up in stores.

Tom Gabel unveiled the cover to the band's upcoming White Crosses on his blog yesterday, and indicated that the act hopes to see the album in stores in early June. He didn't nail down a specific release date, nor did he unveil a track listing. White Crosses follows up 2008's New Wave (Sire).


US release date for Peter Gabriel

It's being reported that Peter Gabriel has recently announced that he will be releasing his new album project, 'Scratch My Back', via EMI Label Services in the US on the March 2, 2010 .

'Scratch My Back' is the first part of a series of song exchanges in which Gabriel and other leading artists reinterpret each other's songs. The album contains interpretations of songs originally by artists such as Radiohead, Neil Young, Arcade Fire, Lou Reed, Talking Heads, Bon Iver and many more.

Gabriel describes this as a very personal record, with twelve songs performed only with orchestral instruments and voice. He made the choice not to include guitar or drums on the album.

In addition, EMI Label Services will make an exclusive 7" AA vinyl release available at independent retailers to celebrate Record Store Day in the US on April 17th. The 7" features Peter Gabriel's "The Book of Love" and "Not One of Us"; a track written by Gabriel and performed by Stephin Merritt of The Magnetic Fields.


Cracker marks 20th year with tour as acoustic duo

In the early '90s the alternative-rock country group Cracker broke through with hits like "Low" and "Teen Angst" off their self-titled debut and the platinum-selling "Kerosene Hat." The band is currently in its 20th year together, and singer David Lowery and guitarist Johnny Hickman are marking the anniversary with an acoustic tour.

Lowery got his start in the '80s with the alternative group Camper Van Beethoven, which sometimes tours with Cracker. The two groups have also shared members, like bassist Victor Krummenacher. Cracker explored multiple genres, including a Lowery and Hickman teaming up with the bluegrass group Leftover Salmon for bluegrass takes on Cracker songs with "O' Cracker Where Art Thou?" Earlier in the decade Cracker toured dive bars under the name "Ironic Mullet," performing country covers by Dwight Yokam, Merle Haggard and Hank Williams, Jr. These songs became the basis for 2003's "Countrysides."

Last year Cracker released its 10th studio album, "Sunrise in the Land of Milk and Honey." The album includes the single "Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out With Me."


RECORD CRACK: New Massachusetts label unleash their first vinyl release

Breakfast Of Champs Records are a new label out of Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts who have a small handful of CD’s under their belt, but they’re about to release their first piece of vinyl with two local indie rock/pop bands: Truman Peyote and Turtle Ambulance.

Each band has a side to themselves, two songs each. The record comes out on March 2nd, you can pre-order the record by going to the Breakfast Of Champs store.



Frontiers Records has announced the signing of legendary rock band WHITESNAKE.

Singer David Coverdale and the rest of the group have already started composing new material that promises to deliver one of the finest chapters in WHITESNAKE's career. "We are off to a very good start, with the new songs taking positive shape. It feels good, fresh and exciting," explains Coverdale.

A February 2010 interview posted on WHITESNAKE's official web site, Coverdale stated:

 "My health and my voice have never been better. I am pleased with how I'm sounding on the demos of the new songs. Very secure, good tone, very powerful. No worries, baby. None whatsoever. I am so disappointed that I had to cancel the show and the U.S. tour, but these things happen. Fortunately, it doesn't happen a lot to me and the problem I had is not something that is ongoing. It was a one-time problem, some kind of blister on one of my vocal cords, and it hurt. The cure was simple — rest. I would have been able to tour again had there been an opportunity six weeks later. The human voice is a very fragile instrument, no matter how well you take care of it, and I assure you I invest in every vocal protocol you can possibly imagine. Ask any of my throat specialists. It was just one of those things."

WHITESNAKE's appearance at U.K.'s Download festival in June 2009 coincided with action-packed re-releases of the multi-platinum albums "Slip Of The Tongue", marking its 20th anniversary, and "Slide It In", which celebrated its 25th anniversary last year.

WHITESNAKE's latest album, "Good To Be Bad", was released through SPV/Steamhammer in April 2008. In addition to the regular jewel-case version, a limited-edition two-disc set contains an extra CD in a cardboard sleeve, as well as a poster, photocard and sticker.