Tuesday, January 27, 2009

EMI Music's Vinyl Campaign

EMI Music's Vinyl Campaign Continues February 24 With Ben Harper's Complete Virgin Records Catalog

Nine Albums and Two EPs Presented in Deluxe, Limited Edition 180-Gram Vinyl Packaging with Bonus Materials

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Jan. 26 /PRNewswire/ -- On February 24, EMI Music continues its successful high-quality vinyl campaign with the release of Ben Harper's entire Virgin Records catalog in limited edition, 180-gram vinyl packaging. Nine Ben Harper albums, all previously out-of-print on vinyl, have been restored to the format with Harper's supervision. The LPs will be released in deluxe packaging with carefully replicated artwork, and two live EPs will make their vinyl release debuts. A bonus colored vinyl 7" is included for Welcome To The Cruel World (Anniversary Edition), and an original poster has been reproduced for inclusion with Both Sides Of The Gun.

EMI Music launched its popular "From The Capitol Vaults" series in September 2008 with 13 classic titles, all previously out-of-print on vinyl. Included in the campaign's debut were A Perfect Circle's Mer de Noms, The Beach Boys' Pet Sounds, Coldplay's Parachutes, A Rush Of Blood To The Head, and X&Y, Radiohead's Pablo Honey, The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A (two 10" 140-gram LPs), Amnesiac (two 10" 140-gram LPs), and Hail To The Thief, R.E.M.'s Document, and Steve Miller Band's Greatest Hits 1974-78.

The series continued with John Lennon's Imagine and Rock 'N' Roll, The Band's Music From Big Pink and The Band, The Beach Boys' Endless Summer, Paul McCartney & Wings' Band On The Run, Megadeth's Peace Sells and Rust In Peace, Queensryche's Operation: Mindcrime, Roxy Music's For Your Pleasure and Roxy Music, Stray Cats' Built For Speed, The Verve's Urban Hymns, and Jimi Hendrix's Band Of Gypsys on fiery red 180-gram vinyl.

For more information about EMI Music's "From The Capitol Vaults" vinyl series, visit http://fromthecapitolvaults.com.


The “Watchmen” Music Soundtrack Is Revealed

Written by: Jeffrey Harris

The pivotal superhero graphic novel turned movie boasts an impressive soundtrack release.

According to the Business Wire, the official soundtrack for the Watchmen movie has been announced. Warner Sunset and Reprise Records will release the soundtrack and original score for the movie on separate CDs on March 3, three days before the movie's release date on March 6, 2009.

The soundtrack will feature a new remix and cover of Bob Dylan's "Desolation Row," by My Chemical Romance. Also included on the soundtrack will be classic songs by Simon & Garfunkel, Nat King Cole, and Janis Joplin. The original score for the movie was composed by Tyler Bates, who previously collaborated with Watchmen director, Zach Snyder, on such movies as 300 and Dawn of the Dead.

Warner Sunset and Reprise Records will be releasing a physical CD of the album as well as a digital album on March 3. The soundtrack on March 17 will go vinyl for a vinyl edition release. March 24 will see the release of a Watchmen Music Collectors Edition 7" Box Set. The box set will boast seven double-sided seven inch discs of the characters from Watchmen with adjacent images from the original graphic novel on the other side. The set will include the cover of "Desolation Row" and the thirteen music tracks by Tyler Bates.

SOURCE: http://www.thecelebritycafe.com

No comments: