Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Music News & Notes

Galaxie 500 Reissue All Three Studio Albums On Vinyl

Just in time for the haze of summer, Galaxie 500 are re-releasing their three brilliantly dreamy studio records on vinyl. Today, On Fire and This Is Our Music have all been remastered for these reissues, and each vinyl copy comes with a high-quality digital download of the album, complete with bonus tracks and videos. You can order these classic records directly from the band, and each will run you about $25, or you can pick up all three for $70. And, for the super fans, if you throw in $80, you get all three records and a cool shirt. Not a bad deal at all, considering the downloads and extras included. So quit getting frustrated by bidding wars on eBay, and go the Galaxie 500 online store, to pick these up directly from Dean Wareham and company. All vinyl orders placed will ship on July 6.


Rare Lennon Footage

A federal judge has ruled that Yoko Ono is the copyright holder of rare footage of John Lennon and his family in London c.1970. The judge refused to reinstate a lawsuit brought by World Wide Video LLC in March of 2008 that alleged Ono had interfered with a planned film they were making by blocking the use of the film.

The original footage was shot by Anthony Cox, Ono's husband at the time and contained over 10-hours of film of Lennon and his family at their English estate. World Wide Video was going to use it in their film 3 Days in the Life.


Sir Paul, Dylan A No Go

Paul McCartney told the Daily Telegraph that he has no plans for a collaboration with Bob Dylan. "That's a newspaper thing. He just said some very complimentary things about me in some interviews and I love him.

"I think he's a great poet and writer so I've always admired him. I don't rule it out and I admire him. But we're not the kind of people who would ring each other up."


ANGBAND: New Album Title, Cover Art Revealed

Iranian power metallers ANGBAND have set "Visions of the Seeker" as the title of their sophomore album, tentatively due in September/October through Pure Steel Records.

Commented guitarist Mahyar Dean: "I'm sure the album will surprise lots of metal fans. It's our second album and there's always something special about the second albums. On the other hand, now people know under what circumstances we're playing metal — it's six feet under the underground!"

ANGBAND released its debut album, "Rising from Apadana", in August 2008.

The band is believed to be the first Iranian metal act to release its work intenationally through a European label.

For more information, visit


Vinyl Collective Top 10 Sales of the past Week

1 BROADWAY CALLS “Good Views, Bad News” LP opaque green vinyl VC exclusive color 102 copies
2 LUCERO “Nobody’s Darlings” LP 180 gram vinyl 50 copies
3 BROADWAY CALLS/ RIOT BEFORE split 7? no idea purple/grey vinyl 35 copies
4 PORTUGAL THE MAN The Satanic Satanist” LP yellow w/ orange swirl vinyl 34 copies
5 IN THE RED/ANCHOR DOWN/BASTARDS OF YOUNG/DRUNKEN BOAT split 7? r cherry cover 21 copies
6 CHUCK RAGAN/ LOVED ONES split 7? blue vinyl 19 copies
7 NONE MORE BLACK “This is Satire” LP black vinyl 18 copies
8 SHOOK ONES “The Unquotable A.M.H.” LP 13 copies
9 TIGERS JAW “Spirit Desire” 7? purple vinyl 12 copies
10 JON SNODGRASS/ CORY BRANAN split LP moon colored vinyl 10 copies


R.E.M. Live Digital EP to Be Released July 7

R.E.M. will be releasing a four-song EP titled Reckoning Songs From The Olympia on July 7 through all of the major digital services.

The songs were recorded during the July 2007 "working rehearsals" at Dublin's Olympia Theatre. The band used the live shows to test out material for their Accelerate album.

All four songs on the EP were originally released on their album Reckoning. The album is meant as a preview of R.E.M. Live at the Olympia which will be released this fall.

The track list:

•Letter Never Sent
•Second Guessing
•Pretty Persuasion

No comments: