Friday, July 3, 2009

Music News & Notes

AEG Live has released this short clip of Michael Jackson's final rehearsal for the This Is It tour.Michael Jackson "This is It" Rehearsals June 23- "They Don't Care About Us." What a very sad ending to a very talented human being.


RAVENS CREED: Debut Album Release Date Announced

RAVENS CREED, the "VENOM-worshipping scumbags" featuring ORANGE GOBLIN's Ben Ward, as well as Steve Watson (ex-IRON MONKEY), Jason Graham, and former SABBAT bassist Frazer Craske, will release their debut album, "Albion Thunder", on July 15 via Doomentia Records.

RAVENS CREED last year posted four new songs on its MySpace page. The tracks "Five Witches of Nine" and "Hearse Fokker" appeared on the band's EP on Land o'Smiles Records as part of the label's "Black Lodge" series, a collection of one-sided 12-inch vinyl EPs, each one unique and limited to only 100 copies and intended to represent no more that 11 minutes of material that is exclusive to this format; "Neon Parasite" and "Diabolical Genesis Reduction" are on the seven-inch picture disc that was released on Doomentia Records.


MERCYFUL FATE To Release New Versions Of 'Evil' And 'Curse Of The Pharaohs' On iTunes

As many fans already know, MERCYFUL FATE's "Evil" is featured as a playable track on "Guitar Hero: Metallica". The band re-recorded "Evil" and "Curse Of The Pharaohs" specifically for the game because the original masters no longer exist. Now the group is making both cuts available to fans to purchase on iTunes!

These versions feature four of the five original MERCYFUL FATE members (vocalist King Diamond, guitarist Hank Shermann, guitarist Michael Denner and bassist Timi Hansen) along with the band's current drummer, Bjarne T. Holm. The recording session was overseen by Hank Shermann at Earplug Studio in Copenhagen, Denmark; after which King Diamond laid down his vocals at Nomad Recording Studio in Dallas, Texas, and mixed the song with J.T. Longoria.

"Evil" and "Curse Of The Pharaohs" will be available for fans to purchase digitally on July 14. A special edition picture disc vinyl single will be available on September 1.


Skindred Reveals Release Date For New Album, "Shark Bites and Dog Fights"

Skindred has announced a September 1, 2009 street date for their upcoming new release, "Shark Bites and Dog Fights." The album was produced by Matt LaPlant (Sikth) at Bieler Bros. Studios in Pompano Beach, Florida.

The cover art for the record can be found here. More information as well as the first taste of the new material will be released soon.



Canadian power metal warriors SAVAGE BLADE have inked a deal with Germany's Pure Steel Records for the worldwide release of their critically acclaimed debut album, "We Are The Hammer".

"SAVAGE BLADE have kicked out a massive debut album", says Andreas Lorenz of Pure Steel Records. "From first note to last, this album breathes the true spirit of classic heavy metal, with playing and songwriting skills that stand on the same level as many legendary '80s metal bands. We see a bright future with SAVAGE BLADE, and look forward to forging a successful partnership, and delivering their premium brand of vintage-style metal to the masses".

Although Pure Steel have yet to announce an official date for the CD, a mid-summer release is expected.


Nikko Forsberg - Lead Vocals
Eric Hoodicoff - Lead & Rhythm Guitar, Drums, Bass, Background Vocals
Chris Rand - Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Background Vocals

No comments: