Saturday, July 11, 2009

Music News & Notes

Richard Hell remakes album 27 years after first release

The punk-rock legend has re-recorded his 1982 album Destiny Street because the original sounded like a 'high-pitched sludge of guitar noise'

Richard Hell and the Voidoids' final album has been remade. Twenty-seven years after the release of Destiny Street, the punk-rock legend has re-recorded the album and will release the "repaired" version on 1 September.

"At the time of the original recording I was so debilitated by despair and drug-need that I was useless," Hell said. "The record ended up being a high-pitched sludge of guitar noise. It was a shame because the songs were clean, simple, and well-constructed, but those values were sabotaged by the inappropriate arrangements and production."

Destiny Street was the follow-up to Blank Generation, arguably one of the greatest punk albums ever made. With two of the original Voidoids absent from the lineup, the 1982 record failed to find the same success – and has been out of print for the last three years.

After finding the original rhythm tracks, Hell "couldn't resist trying to use them to fill and patch up the record". He recruited three stellar guitarists – Bill Frisell, Marc Ribot and original Voidoid Ivan Julian – and recorded new vocals. Robert Quine, the Voidoids' inimitable lead guitarist, died in 2004.

Destiny Street Repaired, which includes covers of songs by Bob Dylan and the Kinks, will be released as a standard CD and a limited-edition CD/vinyl/poster set with bonus material. All 1,000 copies of the deluxe set are signed by Hell himself.


Maroon 5 Music

Maroon 5 has announced that it will be entering the studio this month with legendary producer Mutt Lange to start working the follow-up to their multi-platinum album It Won’t Be Soon Before Long. The album is due out in 2010…


New Soulsavers Album

Soulsavers will release their third album, Broken, August 18 via Columbia Records, in digital formats only. Vocalist Mark Lanegan, who fronted eight tracks on the collective’s sophomore set, returns on 10 tracks on the new album.


Sister Hazel LP

Gainesville, Florida’s Sister Hazel will release it’s seventh studio album, Take A Bow, August 18 and will hit the road, starting with a show Friday (July 10), in Aurora, Illinois. The group has partnered with Ford for the automobile company’s Sync My Ride promotion…


More From Living Colour

Living Colour will release its fifth studio album (and first album of new material in nearly six years), The Chair In The Doorway, September 15, via Megaforce Records. The 11-track collection was recorded over the past several years…


New George Benson Album

Ten-time Grammy winner George Benson will return with Songs And Stories, August 25, via Concord Records/Monster Music. The album is a collection of songs written by many of the most famous songwriters of the past 50 years, including Bill Withers (who came out of retirement), Lamont Dozier, James Taylor, and Donny Hathaway…


Third Man Records News

Third Man Records has announced the opening of The Vault, a social networking and subscription service that provides exclusive offerings from the label’s artists. Subscribers to the $7 per month Premium Service (three month minimum) will get unlimited access to all online Vault services, including exclusive pre-sale concert tickets, streaming video, video messages, official chat rooms, photos, artist updates and pay per view live concerts. The $20 per month Platinum Service (three month minimum) includes all online content as well as quarterly Third Man 12” LPs, extremely limited 7” records and t-shirts These products will only be available through The Vault and will not be distributed to shops or available from Third Man’s online mail order service. Platinum subscribers who sign up between July 3 and July 21 will receive a double album of The White Stripes’ LP Icky Thump featuring an exclusive MONO mix, 180 Gram Vinyl and customized artwork, as well as a Third Man Records exclusive T-shirt and a 45 of The Dead Weather performing two covers, “Forever My Queen” and “Outside,” with special dedicated labels and sleeves exclusive to The Vault.


Patty Loveless Album

Patty Loveless has announced plans for the release of her follow-up to 2001’s “Mountain Soul,” explaining “It’s Appalachian, bluegrass and country combined. You should never try to duplicate something like ‘Mountain Soul.’ What you should do is enhance. So this is like a continuation.”

Joining Patty on the new album will be Vince Gill, bluegrass greats Del and Ronnie McCoury, Carl Jackson, Bryan Sutton, Mike Auldridge, Emmylou Harris, steel guitarist Al Perkins, and Loveless’ 16-year-old vocal discovery Sydni Perry.

The album is slated to drop September 29th on Saguaro Road.


Terri Clark Releases New Single

Terri Clark is set to release a new single from her upcoming album. The song has a blues feel and offers a glimpse into the singer's own life. The single, "Gypsy Boots," may be familiar to Terri's fans because she has been playing it in concert. Terri says the song says a lot about who she is and where she comes from.

The song has been a hit with fans so Terri decided to record it with a band. The song was co-written by Terri, Jon Randall and Leslie Satcher, and tells of restlessness, rebellion and living life to the fullest. Clark asked to be released from her contract with Sony/BMG Nashville so she could make an album that was close to her heart and her life.

"Gypsy Boots" hits the radio airwaves on July 20. Her album, The Long Way Home, was self-produced and will be released in September. Terri wrote or co-wrote all the tracks on the album and it will be Terri's first new music in almost three years.

No comments: