Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Music News & Notes

Suagr Ray Release

Sugar Ray will release "Music for Cougars," its first new studio album in some six years. The album was recorded last year after producer and Pulse label head Josh Abraham suggested the band record a new album on a small budget with the goal of simply having some fun and seeing what happens (via Billboard). The result is a 12-track effort that reportedly hears the band returning to the "lazy grooves, easy beats, and catchy harmonies" that gave the California rockers quite a bit of success in the 1990s.


Riceboy Sleeps Debut

Tuesday will also mark the debut release of Riceboy Sleeps, the side-project of Sigur Rós singer Jón Þór Birgisson and partner Alex Somers. Their self-titled effort is an instrumental affair, featuring 68 minutes and nine tracks of acoustically-driven material.


BALTIMOORE Album Coming In October

Swedish hard rockers BALTIMOORE will release their twelfth LP on October 30. The album's ten tracks were written this past spring by vocalist Björn Lodin and guitarist Lars Åke Löwin.

The recording lineup for the new CD is as follows:

Björn Lodin - Vocals, Guitar, Bass
Örjan Fernkvist - Keyboards
Lars-Åke Löwin - Guitar
Robban Bäck - Drums

BALTIMOORE's eleventh album, "Quick Fix", was released on May 15, 2009 via BLP Music. Written, engineered and produced by Lodin at his home studio — "the only thinkable method" — the effort saw a re-acquaintance with Hammond organist Örjan Fernkvist whose vintage tones brought back a more melodic edge after the last three dual guitar releases. In addition, the CD featured a new rhythm section of bassist Björn Lundkvist and drummer Robban Bäck (both from BALLS — the short-lived 2008 band involving Lodin) knit closely with a talented newcomer on guitar in the guise of Emanuel Hedberg.


New MUSE Album, and They'll Open for U2 !

The British trio Muse have announced they're done recording their fifth album, entitled The Resistance, (due for a September 15 release by Warner Bros. Records). Produced by Muse, the album was mixed by famed audio engineer Mark ‘Spike’ Stent, who is known for his work with U2, Depeche Mode, No Doubt, and Oasis, among many others. In perfect timing, Muse will perform at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards on September 13, and the band will open several U2 shows (a daunting task), including two shows at Giants Stadium in E Rutherford, NJ


Capitol/EMI Releasing 2-CD Edition of Duran Duran's Rio & CD/DVD Hammersmith '82 Concert Set

Capitol/EMI have announced a September 22 release date for two new Duran Duran products.

First up is the 2-CD deluxe edition of their landmark album Rio. Included on the first disc is the original U.K. mix plus additional versions of tracks remixed for the U.S. release. The second disc is demos, B-sides, and other rarities. For those that purchase the album as a digital download, you will receive two additional rare tracks.

The second release is Live at Hammersmith '82, recorded and filmed at the height of the initial Duran Duran fever. The DVD version includes the concert plus original Rio videos and two performances from the U.K.'s Top of the Pops program. A digital concert album will also be sold without any associated video tracks.


DETHKLOK: New Album Details Revealed

"The Dethalbum II", the new album by DETHKLOK, the animated metal band from Adult Swim's "Metalocalypse", will be released on September 8 via Williams Street Records. The effort features 12 full-length tracks detailing DETHKLOK's exploits in murder, mayhem and all things brutal. Written by series co-creator Brendon Small and recorded alongside legendary drummer Gene Hoglan, "Dethklok: The Dethalbum II" will be released as both a standard edition and a two-disc deluxe edition on CD and digital download beginning September 8. Additionally, a limited edition vinyl of the album will be released in to local record shops on September 29.

No comments: