Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Vinyl Record News

Sick Of It All To Reissue First Two Albums On Vinyl

Reflections Records will re-release the first two albums from New York hardcore legends Sick Of It All — "Blood, Sweat And No Tears" (originally released on July 12, 1989) and "Just Look Around" (1992). Both albums will feature original artwork but be packaged in a gatefold sleeve. They will be limited to 500 copies.

Sick Of It All's new album,"Based On A True Story", is scheduled for release on April 20 via Century Media Records. The follow-up to 2006's "Death To Tyrants" was recorded Antfarm Studios in Ã…rhus, Denmark with Danish producer Tue Madsen (Halford, Behemoth, Kataklysm, The Haunted).


The Society Of Rockets Announce Release Date For Double Vinyl

America is still number one in space and time exploration now that San Francisco's The Society of Rockets has recorded its fourth album, "Future Factory," due out March 16. The band's singer and cosmonaut leader, Joshua Babcock has proclaimed the 21-track psych-pop album as being "designed to function as an hour-long sonic map of utopias that never were and have yet to be."

The Society of Rockets are currently docked out in San Francisco's industrial Dogpatch neighborhood, where Babcock's team of musical chemists includes Adam Dobrer on bass, David Isbister on piano and keyboards, Steve Wertheim on drums, Robin Wageman on guitar, and multi-instrumentalist Lorelei David on theremin, flute, and xylophone. Longtime associate Ben Tinker also joined in, contributing all of the freshly unearthed analog synth tones peppered throughout "Future Factory," the follow-up to 2007's critically acclaimed "Our Paths Related."

The lab results for "Future Factory" have tested positive for a kind of Faust (Krautrock) meets Unrest ('90s Indie) meets Milton Nascimento (post-Tropicalia samba) concoction.

Babcock's original hypothesis was to take the songs from the "Future Factory" sessions and find a way to make them play in a different order on every listen, creating an audio jigsaw puzzle that would constantly rearrange itself. In the end, the band's enduring vinyl obsession prevailed, resulting in this lovingly crafted 180-gram white vinyl double album.


Minus the Bear announce Omni

Seattle-based quintet Minus the Bear are very excited to announce the release of their new album, OMNI, set for a May 4th release on Dangerbird Records. Produced by Grammy Award winning producer Joe Chiccarelli (The White Stripes, My Morning Jacket), OMNI showcases the quintet's remarkable gift to craft visionary and gripping compositions, and with the assistance of Chiccarelli, revealing new layers in their songwriting as they pursue the next level in their inimitable musical style. With the exploration of erotic themes and fascinating tales of human sexual relationships, OMNI is a riveting new album of rich soundscapes illustrated by Minus The Bear's trademark precision and tremendous growth as artistic lyricists and songwriters. Beginning April 21st, Minus the Bear will embark on a 6-week North American tour premiering these new tracks. Dates to be announced shortly. OMNI marks the first release for the band on Dangerbird Records.

Over the years, Minus the Bear has won over legions of fans and critics with an exhilarating live show and a sound that is uniquely their own. With a devoted fan base, Minus the Bear sell out 2000-capacity venues nationwide whether on or off album cycle, have generated more than 13 million plays on MySpace, and continuously release new material (EPs and singles) to fan and critical acclaim.



Eternal Summers Announce EP; Make Track Available Online For Free

Eternal Summers announce their self-titled EP to be released on March 13th on Chimney Sweep Records. The record will be available on limited edition 10" vinyl as well as from online retailers. In anticipation of the release, they have made the first single "Able To" available for free download via RCRD LBL beginning today.


FIREWIND's 'The Premonition' To Be Released On Vinyl

"The Premonition", the latest album from Greek melodic metallers FIREWIND — who feature in their ranks current OZZY OSBOURNE guitarist Gus G. — will be released on vinyl on March 8 via Century Media Records. The band's first-ever vinyl release will contain one bonus track.

FIREWIND recently parted ways with drummer Mark Cross (ex-HELLOWEEN, METALIUM) due to personal differences. Sitting behind the kit for FIREWIND for the band's three since-cancelled shows in Mexico in February was supposed to be Michael Ehre (ULI JON ROTH, KEE MARCELLO).

FIREWIND is currently working on material for a new studio album, tentatively due later in the year via Century Media Records.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Keep posting stuff like this i really like it