Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Music News & Notes

RAINBOW Albums To Be Reissued On Vinyl

Back On Black, which specializes in vinyl editions of classic metal albums and is dedicated to providing top-quality releases for record collectors and metal fans worldwide, has announced that 2010 will see the release of the original classic RAINBOW albums on vinyl. All records will be 180-gram heavyweight vinyl and packaged in deluxe gatefold sleeves. The first 1,000 copies of each title will come in limited-edition colored vinyl.

Due out on July 12 are the following titles:

* Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow (1975)
* Rising (1976)
* On Stage (1977)
* Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (1978)
* Down To Earth (1979)
* Difficult to Cure (1981)
* Straight Between the Eyes (1982)
* Finyl Vinyl (1986)


Alan Parsons Releasing First New Song in Six Years

Alan Parsons has signed with Authentik Artists which will release a new single, "All Our Yesterdays," worldwide on June 15 via most digital download sites.

All Our Yesterdays is Parsons first new music since the album A Valid Path in 2004. The song was written and recorded as part of a new educational series that he is doing entitled The Art and Science of Sound Recording. Those purchasing the digital single will also receive the theme song from the series, Alpha Centauri.

In a rarity, Parsons is taking the lead vocal on the song with additional instrumentation by Simon Philips (Toto, the Who), Rami Jaffe (Wallflowers, Foo Fighters) and Nathan East (Eric Clapton, Michael Jackson)

No comments: