Friday, July 23, 2010

Music News & Notes

COMEBACK KID: Releases New Song and Reveals Special Enhanced Album Details

Hardcore band COMEBACK KID is preparing for the release of their fourth studio album Symptoms + Cures on August 31. Produced by Eric Ratz (Cancer Bats, Billy Talent) and Kenny Luong (Cancer Bats, Billy Talent), fans can get a taste of the new record by visiting the band’s MySpace page, where the first track “Do Yourself A Favor” has been posted:


Screen Vinyl Image Announces New EP, 7″ and Tour Dates

Virginian shoegazers Screen Vinyl Image have announced the release of two new records, along with a few new tour dates. The first release will be the Ice Station EP, which will be issued first as a limited run of 200 cassette tapes, followed by the “Siberian Eclipse” 7″ in the fall (both on Fan Death Records). The Ice Station cassette includes the new songs “Siberian Eclipse” and “New Visions,” as well as live tracks from the band’s show with Spectrum at the Velvet Lounge in Washington, DC, in May and a few other songs from the Ice Station (SVI’s own studio) sessions. Another single, “Too Much Speed,” is also slated for release in the fall on Custom Made Music.

Tour Dates:

07/23 – Washington, DC – The Submarine (with Bloody Knives and Space Tigers)

08/15 – Washington, DC – Velvet Lounge (with Telltale and Soren Well)

08/21 – Kalamazoo, MI – Kalamashoegazer Festival at The Strutt (with Glowfriends, Brief Candles, Olympus Mons, Pilot Cloud, Love Culture, 800 Beloved, Crash City Saints, Rosen Association)

09/03 – Washington, DC – Velvet Lounge (with W/ Night & The City, Hot Cha Cha, Hiding Places)

09/17 – Philadelphia, PA – Pilam (with Ceremony, The Vandelles, Sounds of Kaleidescope, Stellarscope, 28 Degrees Taurus)

09/18 – Baltimore, MD – The Otto Bar (with The Flying Eyes and The Vandelles)

10/16 – Baltimore, MD – Talking Head Fan Death Records Presents (with Puerto Rico Flowers and Pfisters)


Fatal Embrace Releases Most Recent Album on Vinyl; Three Versions to Choose From

Thrash vets Fatal Embrace have released their newest album, "The Empires of Inhumanity," on vinyl through Iron Shield Records.

Available in classic black, quirky green or brutal orange splatter, the package includes the gatefold sleeve with complete album art and a poster. These limited edition releases are priced to sell, however:

Black: 275 copies, 12 euros
Green: 150 copes, 14 euros
Splatter: 100 copies, 16 euros


Ex-MEGADETH Guitarist MARTY FRIEDMAN To Release New Solo Album Next Month

Former MEGADETH guitarist Marty Friedman will release his tenth solo album, "Bad D.N.A.", in Japan on August 25 via Avex. The CD was produced by Marty and engineered by Steve Hardy and Shinnosuke Miyazawa (LADY GAGA, GUNS N' ROSES) this April/May at The Village in Los Angeles, California.

According to a posting on Friedman's web site, "Bad D.N.A." is "a natural progression, picking up where 'Loudspeaker' and 'Tokyo Jukebox' left off and adding its own twists and turns."

The first Japanese pressing will include the first music video for the title track, "Bad D.N.A.", directed by Visual Trap, which has directed all of the videos for DIR EN GREY.


Record Store Day News

HEART - The Sisters Wilson are back with a new album in August, but this Tuesday you can pick up a special heart-shaped red vinyl single, featuring their new song, "WTF" and a special live version of their classic "Magic Man." Welcome back, ladies!


The HIVES Tarred & Feathered vinyl 7" EP!
Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World soundtrack—on vinyl!

J.P., CHRISSIE & THE FAIRGROUND BOYS - Chrissie just keeps on making us smile here at RSD HQ. This time it's about the new record, FIDELITY!, but also about the story behind it, kind of a really kick-ass rock version of a made-for-tv movie: Bad-ass rocker girl meets scruffy Welsh guy, dares him to write a song, likes the song, likes the boy, boy and girl hole up in a hotel room in Cuba, write an album, form a band, rock out happily ever after. The album actually probably tells the stories better. But until FIDELITY! is released in August, hear some new music on a special indies-only 7", which streets this coming Tuesday. What's on the 7"? A brand new song, "If You Let Me" and "Skinny Love", a Bon Iver cover, recorded live in Chicago.

Find the latest info at


Devo Head Out On Tour

After releasing "Something For Everybody" to critical acclaim in June, Devo is heading out on a North American tour beginning July 23rd in Kansas City, MO. raves "Something For Everybody" "delivers plenty of humor and hooks," while says "combining the punk-funk fury of Devo's earliest recordings with synth pop, this ninth disc is frantic and wall-to-wall catchy."

Tour Dates:

•7/23 - Kansas City, MO - City Market
•7/24 - Des Moines, IA - Simon Estes Riverfront
•7/26 - Indianapolis, IN - The Vogue
•7/28 - Atlanta, GA - Chastain Park
•7/30 - Richmond, VA - The National
•7/31 - Clifton Park, NY - Northern Lights
•8/1 - Montreal, QC, Canada - Osheaga Music & Arts Festival
•8/4 - Columbus, OH - Ohio State Fair
•8/5 - Chicago, IL - Congress Theatre
•8/6 - Chicago, IL - Lollapalooza 2010
•9/4 - Squamish, British Columbia - Live at Squamish
•9/18 - Phoenix, AZ - Arizona Fall Frenzy


Katy Perry Teenage Dream Album Cover

Singer Katy Perry finally unveiled the cover for her new album “Teenage Dream”, which comes out on August 24, 2010. The cover artwork is a portrait of Katy by one of her favorite artists, Will Cotton, whose work has been a major inspiration for the singer’s forthcoming album.


Robyn announces new album details

RobynMusicRobyn has revealed the tracklisting and cover art for her new album.

Body Talk Pt 2, the second in a trilogy of records the Swedish pop singer plans to release in 2010, will feature eight new tracks including 'U Should Know Better', a collaboration with Snoop Dogg.

The album, whose cover art appears to the right, also includes songwriting and production contributions from longtime Robyn cohort Klas Ahlund, M.I.A. associate Diplo, Swedish DJ duo Savage Skulls and Kleerup, with whom she previously collaborated on the 2007 UK chart-topper 'With Every Heartbeat'.

The album tracklisting in full:

•'In My Eyes'
•'Include Me Out'
•'Hang With Me'
•'Love Kills'
•'We Dance To The Beat'
•'Criminal Intent'
•'U Should Know Better' ft. Snoop Dogg
•'Indestructible' (acoustic version)

No comments: