Monday, July 26, 2010

Music News & Notes

Rolling Stones To Announce 'Last Ever' World Tour

It's being reported that the Rolling Stones are set to announce their last ever world tour. The band is said to be in talks with concert promoter Live Nation about the 50th anniversary jaunt. The dates will apparently begin next year and last into 2012.

"They're likely to perform in stadiums,” a source told The Sun. “It's almost certainly the last full-scale world tour.”

The band, who formed in 1962, have become a prolific live act over the latter stages of their career. Their most recent A Bigger Bang tour, which ran for two years, grossed $558million.

Drummer Charlie Watts will turn 70 during the tour, while Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Ronnie Wood are all in their 60s.


Obscura Begin Work On New Album

Progressive death metal act Obscura has begun recording the follow-up album to their breakthrough release Cosmogenesis at Woodshed Studio in southern Germany. Engineer V. Santura (Triptykon, Dark Fortress) will helm the recording. An early 2011 release date is expected with additional album details to be announced soon.

Obscura's recording and touring line-up remains as Kummerer on guitar and vocals, Christian Muenzner on guitar, Jeroen Paul Thesseling on bass and Hannes Grossman on drums. The band will round out the Cosmogenesis touring cycle with a performance as part of the Mezcal Metal Festival in Mexico City, Mexico in September.


Orbs Ready Debut Album For Release

Pre-orders for Orbs' debut album, "Asleep Next To Science," are now available through The album will be released on August 17th. Orbs is made up of Adam Fisher and Clayton "Goose" Holyoak (Fear Before), Dan Briggs (Between the Buried and Me), Ashley Ellyllon (Abigail Williams/Cradle of Filth) and Chuck Johnson (Torch Runner). The band will be heading out on the road with Junius in August.


Linkin Park reveal 'A Thousand Suns' album artwork and tracklisting

Linkin Park have revealed the cover art for their fourth studio album A Thousand Suns, which is set for a release date of 13th September. They've also released the tracklisting which will be produced by Minutes To Midnight producer Rick Rubin and band MC and guitarist Mike Shinoda. All songs and music will be written by the band. The Catalyst will be the first single from the album and will be released on 2nd August.

1.The Requiem
2.The Radiance
3.Burning In The Skies
4.Empty Spaces
5.When They Come To Me
6.Robot Boy
7.Jornada Del Muerto
8.Waiting For The End
10.Wretches And Kings
11.Wisdom, Justice And Love
14.The Catalyst
15.The Messenger


Pantera deluxe release

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of Pantera's Cowboys From Hell album, Warner Music will be releasing a special three-disc deluxe boxed set on November 22.

The package will include the original album plus rare and unreleased tracks as well as demo and live versions.


Science of Silence Release Vinyl-Only Voyager/Monolith Split LP

With the slow, grueling death of the CD medium upon us, you might raise an eyebrow over the existence of a limited-edition, vinyl-only record label, but it's actually brilliant. Sure, vinyl died years before the CD, but like anything that goes extinct, there are people still interested in collecting it, whether it's music or dinosaur bones. Marc Schapiro and Tim Tatulli have launched Science of Silence to serve vinyl collectors, not the masses. Their debut release was a split clear LP with Voyager and Monolith.



Eagle Records

Eagle Records are delighted to announce the release of “Red Velvet Car”, the first new studio album in six years from the groundbreaking Seattle-based band Heart. The record is released on 30 August 2010 [Cat. No. EAGCD424].

For this album, the first ladies of arena rock added an acoustic slant to a collection of songs inspired by the world around them, arranged for an assortment of strings including guitar, mandolin, dobro, banjo, fiddle, viola, cello and autoharp, all played by Nancy Wilson and the album’s producer, Grammy winner Ben Mink.

Nine of the album’s songs were written for, and appear for the first time on “Red Velvet Car”. The album’s closer, “Sand,” is a newly recorded version of a song originally written and recorded by the Lovemongers, Ann and Nancy’s 1990’s acoustic side project. Tracks on “Red Velvet Car” include “Death Valley,” “Safronia’s Mark,” “Red Velvet Car,” “Queen City,” “Sunflower,” “Wheels,” “There You Go,” “WTF,” “Hey You” and “Sand.”

Ann Wilson describes the album as having, “A fresh sound with all the original Heart magic.” “This album feels so right for the times,” said Nancy Wilson. “We can’t wait to share this one with the world!” Ann Wilson and her younger sister, Nancy Wilson, first showed the world that women can rock when their band Heart stormed the charts in the ’70s with hits like “Crazy on You,” “Magic Man,” “Barracuda,” ‘Straight On,” “Even It Up,” “Kick It Out” and so many more. Not only did the Wilson sisters lead the band, they wrote the songs, and played the instruments too, making them the first women in rock to do so. Heart continued topping the charts through the ‘80s and into the ‘90s with huge hits like “These Dreams,” “Alone,” “What About Love,” “If Looks Could Kill,” “Never,” showcasing the sisters’ enormous talents as both musicians and singers. Along the way, Heart sold more than 30 million records, had 21 top 40 hits, sold out arenas worldwide, and had a profound influence on rock music – “Red Velvet Car” continues that journey, and in considerable style.


Anberlin Album Art

Anberlin have released the album art for their upcoming September 21 release, "Dark is the Way, Light is a Place"

No comments: