Friday, July 30, 2010

Music News & Notes

Gang Gang Dance Break Silence with New Latitudes EP

Combining dubstep, hip-hop, tribalism and dreamy pop, Gang Gang Dance are one of the most relevant and forward-thinking bands around. They've even got their own contemporary imitators. That's why it's so critical that they break the two-year silence since Saint Dymphnia with some new material. Fortunately, they'll do just that when they release a new EP later this summer.

Kamakaru will be limited to 1,000 hand-numbered CDs and 1,000 vinyl records (300 white, 700 black).


Opeth To Release New Live Album and DVD

As part of the ongoing celebration of their 20th anniversary, Sweden’s Opeth is releasing live footage and audio from the band’s recent performance at London’s famed Royal Albert Hall. In Live Concert at the Royal Albert Hall, and is due out September 21st.

20 years and nine records later, Opeth embarked on the “Evolution XX: An Opeth Anthology” tour, which brought the Swedish group to six of the world’s most unique venues, and now, with the release of In Live Concert at the Royal Albert Hall, into the homes of their fans.

The release will be available as three very special configurations: a limited edition vinyl box set, 5-disc set that consists of 2-DVD and 3 CD’s and as a double-DVD set with bonus features. Full details and track listing below.

Limited Edition Vinyl Box Set:

·Double-DVD set of Opeth’s performance at the legendary Royal Albert Hall, in its entirety, including bonus features.

·A set of four 180-gram LP’s of the concert’s live audio in its entirety. The vinyl is housed in black poly lined inner sleeves which are packaged as 2 double gatefold set with exclusive artwork. Vinyl only available in this box set.

·Exclusive, numbered lithograph with artwork designed by Mikael Ã…kerfeldt and longtime Opeth designer, Travis Smith.

·20-page, LP sized booklet printed on coated paper stock that chronicles the night’s events in photos.

·Expanded, exclusive artwork and more.


Superchunk To Rock Museum For Album Release Show

Superchunk is set to celebrate the release of their first new album in more than nine years with a concert at the Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University on Sept. 16, 2010.

The museum is the only North Carolina venue for the Chapel Hill-based band's national fall tour in support of their new album, "Majesty Shredding." The concert is open to the public and begins at 8:30 p.m.

The Superchunk performance, a complement to the Nasher Museum's exhibition "The Record: Contemporary Art and Vinyl," will take place after a 6 p.m. talk by New York-based visual artist Xaviera Simmons, whose work is part of the exhibition. "The Record" explores the culture of vinyl records through 50 years of contemporary art and features work by 41 artists from around the world who use vinyl records as subject or medium.


Van Halen Top Guitar Albums List has been rolling out their Top 50 Guitar Albums list. They also launched a reader's poll to let their readers in on the action.  Today they revealed the full list with Van Halen's 1978 self-titled debut topping the list.

As for the list, here is how the rest of the Top 10 came out:

2. The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Are You Experienced (1967)
3. Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin IV (1971)
4. Derek and the Dominos, Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs (1970)
5. Guns N' Roses, Appetite for Destruction (1987)
6. Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin II (1969)
7. The Allman Brothers Band, At Fillmore East (1971)
8. Cream, Disraeli Gears (1967)
9. The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Electric Ladyland (1968)
10. AC/DC, Back in Black (1980)


Bad Religion To Celebrate 30th Anniversary With Release of 15th Studio Album

Celebrating three decades of influential, thought provoking and groundbreaking punk rock, Bad Religion will release their fifteenth studio album, 'The Dissent of Man,' on September 28. Fans can preorder The Dissent of Man now at Additionally, Bad Religion will kick off a North American tour in October with support from Bouncing Souls and Off With Their Heads.

Produced by Joe Barresi (Queens of the Stone Age, Tool), The Dissent of Man finds Bad Religion pushing the boundaries of their music as much today as they did in their formative years as a genre defining punk band. The Dissent of Man is a testament to why Bad Religion has remained relevant for the better part of three decades.


AUTOPSY to release first new album in more than 10 years

West Coast gore legends, Autopsy, have completed the recording of their first tracks since officially reforming last year. 'The Tomb Within' EP was recorded in mid-July 2010 at Fantasy Studios with Adam Munoz. 'The Tomb Within' unites the original trio of Chris Reifert, Danny Coralles, and Eric Cutler, joined on bass by Joe Trevisano (ex-Abscess).

The new EP – the band’s first in over a decade - consists of five new tunes of gore and depravity, and will be released on CD and 12” vinyl on September 13th through the Peaceville Records webstore, with a general release set for later this fall. Cover art is supplied by renowned fantasy/horror artist Matt Cavotta. 

The track list:

1. The Tomb Within
2. My Corpse Shall Rise
3. Seven Skulls
4. Human Genocide
5. Mutant Village

Autopsy decided to make an official comeback after working together on two songs for the special 20th anniversary edition of their debut album, Severed Survival, in late 2008. The band had originally decided to split before the release of their fourth album, Shitfun, in 1995.

The 12" vinyl edition of 'The Tomb Within' comes with a free poster of the stunning cover artwork, and is limited to just 1000 numbered copies. It can be pre-ordered at:  The CD edition can be pre-ordered at: and will include a special limited postcard.


DEATH OF DESIRE: 'ANTIhuman' Artwork Unveiled
German extreme metallers DEATH OF DESIRE, whose recording lineup includes MAYHEM drummer Hellhammer (a.k.a. Jan Axel Blomberg), have unveiled the cover artwork for their upcoming debut album, "ANTIhuman". According to the band, "The main idea for the cover art was designed by [guitarist] Morbid and F.Z. from the black metal band KYTHRONE is the man responsible for this evil 3D composition."


Rascal Flatts Cover Art For New Album ‘Nothing Like This’29

Rascal Flatts released the new cover to their album ‘Nothing Like This’ to be released on Big Machine Records. Produced by Dann Huff, ‘Nothing Like This’ will be in stores on November 16. The first single ‘Why Wait’ is being released to country radio immediately.


David said...

Hey !Where can I get a copy of Opeth's new album at Orange County Dvd stores ?

Robert Benson said...

Here's where you can find the vinyl: