Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Music News & Notes

Queensryche Injured In Iraq Bombing

Armed forces supporters Queensryche were the victims of a bomb attack during their recent visit to war-torn Iraq, however frontman Geoff Tate insists making the trip was the least the band could do.

The prog metal outfit played a series of shows for military personnel. While in northern Iraq they were forced to take cover when a battle exploded around them, and although none of them were killed, they were left injured and shaken by the experience.

"We got bombed. We had to spend a lot of hours in bunkers there, waiting for the insurgents to get under control. We all lived through it although we got injured – that was a scary situation," Tate tells BraveWords.com. "A mortar landed about a hundred yards from where I was standing – the ground just shook. It was amazingly powerful and scared the hell out of me. I'd just been standing there watching the sun come up, eating a little container of yoghurt and boom – the bomb goes off."

Keep up the good work!  You lead by example, thank you!

Unreleased Syd Barrett Jam Gets Release

The legendary Pink Floyd founder Syd Barrett remains one of the most enigmatic figures in rock music.  A new anthology of his work, 'An Introduction to Syd Barrett,' is only likely to add fuel to the fire with all the myths and mysteries surrounding the iconic artist, who died in 2006.

Of interest to long-time Barrett fans will be the anthology's inclusion of a never-before released track, "Rhamadan," which is available as a bonus download to those who purchase the album.

The track is drawn from the tumultuous sessions for Barrett's 1970 solo album, 'The Madcap Laughs.'   "Rhamadan" is essentially a 20-minute, freeform jam, with Barrett forsaking melody and structure as he solos on a variety of instruments.


Neil Young, Devo, Flaming Lips Holiday LP Coming Soon

Gift Wrapped II: Snowed In, a 21-track LP featuring holiday songs from Rachael Yamagata, Tegan and Sara, Regina Spektor, Everest, Devo, the Flaming Lips and a rare holiday track with Neil Young on vocals, should help shoppers filling the stockings of music lovers.

The album includes originals by Spektor (“December”), Yamagata (“Baby Come Find Me At Christmas”), Devo (“Merry Something To You”), covers by Everest (Marvin Gaye’s “Christmas in the City”), Tegan and Sara (“The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late)”), the Flaming Lips (“Little Drummer Boy”), and the tune “Les Trois Cloches” (aka “Three Bells”) which is performed by the late Ben Keith with Neil and Pegi Young on vocals.

01. Cavo - “Home For Christmas”
02. Ben Keith (feat. Neil Young and Pegi Young) - “Les Trois Cloches”
03. Oasis - “Merry Christmas Everybody”
04. American Bang - “Christmas Song”
05. Jason Reeves and Kara DioGuardi - “New York In Wintertime”
06. Tegan And Sara - “The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late)”
07. Regina Spektor - “December”
08. Devo - “Merry Something To You”
09. David Foster - “Carol Of The Bells” (instrumental)
10. The Ready Set - “Wonderful Christmastime”
11. Foxy Shazam - “Heaven On Their Minds”
12. The Goo Goo Dolls - “Better Days” (acoustic)
13. Rachael Yamagata - “Baby Come Find Me At Christmas”
14. Everest - “Christmas In The City”
15. The Dirt Drifters - “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”
16. The Spill Canvas - “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear”
17. Stardeath And The White Dwarfs - “Last Christmas”
18. House Of Heroes - “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”
19. The Flaming Lips - “Little Drummer Boy” (live)
20. Franklin - “Hanukkah, Oh Channukah” (bonus track)
21. The Red Elephant - “Brooklyn Sleigh Ride” (bonus track)

No comments: