Friday, February 15, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

I want to extend my thanks to all who entered the Spin-Clean Record Contest  (the contest ended today at noon)   Here are the winners:

Congratulations to Jo A. from Portland, OR who was the 33rd emailer and wins the Spin-Clean® Record Washer MKII Package - LIMITED EDITION "Clear Unit"

Congratulations to Stephen L. from Warminster, PA who was the 45th emailer and he wins the Spin-Clean® Record Rack

A very special thank you to the folks at Spin-Clean® Record Washer for making it all possible.  I know the machine.   It's an affordable method to keep your beloved vinyl clean, and simply put, it works.  Stop by their site and get one!


New Google+ Community "All Things Vinyl"

There's a new G+ group forming called "All Things Vinyl" (I am a part of it!) and I can recommend it to all, check it out at Google+ today!


from our friends at

ZOZOBRA Announce New Album Details

Premiere New Song "Black Holes"

Boston, MA's ZOZOBRA have revealed the details behind their latest release Savage Masters, due out April 2nd on LP/Digital via Brutal Panda Records.

The brainchild of Caleb Scofield (Cave In, Old Man Gloom), ZOZOBRA formed in 2006 and quickly released two crushing full-lengths of atmospheric sludge metal, Harmonic Tremors (2007) and Bird of Prey (2008).   Now five years later, the band has re-emerged with Savage Masters, their most aggressive and straightforward release to date.  Bursting out the gate with a bold, determined purpose, Savage Masters is an unrelenting fury of post-hardcore ferocity and sludge-tinged amplifier crunch.  This release, featuring long-time Cave In bandmates Adam McGrath (guitars) and J.R. Conners (drums), proves once and for all that ZOZOBRA are a veritable force to be reckoned with.  Savage Masters was produced and recorded by Andrew Schneider (Unsane, Pelican) and contains stunning artwork by English alchemist Glyn Smyth (Unearthly Trance, Wolves in the Throne Room, Cough).


from and



Austin, TX--- Wednesday, February 13, 2013 --- Mondo, the collectible art division of Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, is excited to announce the release of Jerry Goldsmith’s Poltergeist score on limited edition vinyl. Combining a love for film music and beautiful artistic renderings, Mondo commissioned original cover art from We Buy YourKids, the duo of Australian illustrators Sonny Day and Biddy Maroney.  The Poltergeist 2-disc vinyl will be available for purchase for $25 on February 22 via andwill include a small portion of randomly inserted clear vinyl copies.  The full track list appears at the bottom and includes 5 tracks never before released on vinyl.

The Poltergeist vinyl soundtrack release continues Mondo’s commitment to crafting beautiful packaging for scores they love and adds to an eclectic collection that now includes The Beyond, Deadly Spawn, Maniac and the upcoming vinyl release for Drive.  Much more is on the horizon for 2013.

JerryGoldsmith's soundtrack for Steven Spielberg's Poltergeist formed a significant part of the 1982 film's conceptual strength.  Known for the intensity of his thematic exposition, Goldsmith designs the Poltergeist soundtrack to elaborately ground the film between the promise of suburban repose andthe malevolent unknown. Beginning in innocence with a classic rendition of the "Star-Spangled Banner," the soundtrack parallels the film's intrusion of angry ghosts into the California home of the film's protagonists with dreadful strings and eerie keys. Goldsmith then switches to airier strings and an ethereal flute to denote the family's fumbling after their daughter, Carol Anne, is abducted. Utilizing frenzied horn blasts and a sudden lapse into atonalism, the composer ominously signifies the emergence of the Beast. Goldsmith, seemingly effortless, concludes the frantic drama of "Escape From Suburbia" in stark contrast with the sweet and child-like tones of "Carol Anne's Theme," elegantly illustrating the dignity and range that his orchestral scores for horror modeled within the genre.

Mondo previously collaborated with We Buy Your Kids for a gallery show, “Tina’s Mom’s Boyfriend,” in November.  We Buy Your Kids began working together in 2006, creating screen-printed posters for local concerts.  Since then, their client list has expanded to include film, print, huge corporations, and galleries.  Often making art that the squares think is weird, they are the perfect collaborator for the Poltergeist soundtrack artwork.

For the exact sale time on February 22 follow @MondoNews on Twitter.  Full track list below, including 5 tracks (#1, #3, #4, #6 and #9) that appear on vinyl for the first time.

1) The Star Spangled Banner
2) The Calling / The Neighborhood (Main Title)
3) The Tree (Outtake)
4) The Clown / They're Here / Broken Glass / The Hole / TV People
5) Twisted Abduction
6) Contacting The Other Side
7) The Light
8) Night Visitor / No Complaints
9) ItKnows What Scares You
10) Rebirth
11) Night Of The Beast
12) Escape From Suburbia
13) Carol Anne's Theme (End Title)


i'm a sucker for skull album art

Satan Reveal Album Cover Art

Metal legends Satan have just revealed the album cover art for the comeback album called 'Life Sentence, which is due out on April 29, 2013 in Europe via Listenable Records with an undisclosed May date for the US.

The cover was created by artist Eliran Kantor (Testament/Hatebreed/Sodom) and depicts a similar concept as on the legendary 1983 debut LP 'Court In The Act.'


Thergothon Album "Stream From The Heavens" To Be Reissued On Vinyl - this release is strictly limited to 500 copies: 100 copies on 180-gram orange vinyl and 400 on 180-gram black vinyl.


Whitesnake Announce ‘Made in Japan’ Live Album


Things Are Just Peachy Keen — Favorite Fruit-Related Album Covers


25 Of The Weirdest Album Covers


No comments: