Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Music Record Shop Weekly

Starting a new feature here on the CVR blog called Music Record Shop Weekly (look for it every Friday!).  The availability of vinyl is sometimes questioned, if your local record store doesn't have it, where can you find it?  That's where MusicRecordShop.comcomes in.  Mark has an eclectic array of newly presed vinyl and provides a valuable to service to vinyl lovers everywhere with reasonable prices, shipping and availability.  In the feature we will have a top sellers list, news on new releases and some other fun stuff (work with us here!) 

Nick Drake - Pink Moon - Vinyl Box Set - 2013

On February the 25th 1972 Island Records released Nick Drake's third, and what was to be his final, album Pink Moon to a largely disinterested press and public. 40 years on since its birth, Universal re-
presents the album in an exactly replicated vinyl pressing, re-mastered by the original co-producer and engineer; John Wood at Abbey Road and pressed on Audiophile virgin vinyl with the original gatefold sleeve, inner sleeve, paper labels, the promotional shop-poster and a facsimile of Nick's handwritten lyrics to four of the songs, all gathered together in a box showing the original master tape box from which the vinyl was mastered. Purchasers also get access to a free electronic downloadable version in 24 bit digital. Also available in standard vinyl format.
  • Label Universal
  • 180 Gram Vinyl Record - LP Box Set - Sealed
  • Gatefold Sleeve
  • Original promotional shop-poster
  • Facsimile of Nick's handwritten lyrics to four of the songs
  • Box showing the original master tape box from which the vinyl was mastered
  • Digital download card
  • Original Engineer/Producer John Wood
  • Mastered from the original 40-year-old analogue master tapes
Track Listing
1. Pink Moon
2. Place to Be
3. Road
4. Which Will
5. Horn
6. Things Behind the Sun
7. From The Morning
8. Know
9. Parasite
10. Free Ride
11. Harvest Breed

Buy Your Copy at MusicRecordShop

Rodriguez - Searching For Sugar Man Vinyl 2-LP 2012

The story remains one of the music world's most unusual tales of the 1970s: an obscure debut LP by a Detroit singer-songwriter becomes a source of hope and inspiration to the anti-Apartheid movement in South Africa. Now, the story of Rodriguez and his cult album Cold Fact is the basis for Searching For Sugar Man, a riveting new documentary by filmmaker Malik Bendjelloul. Light In The Attic Records in partnership with Sony Legacy are honored to announce the release of the original motion picture soundtrack, comprising tracks from Cold Fact and its 1971 follow-up Coming From Reality - both reissued in 2008 and 2009 by Light In The Attic. The soundtrack begins with the otherworldly "Sugar Man" and acts as a primer to this long-overlooked musician's fusion of gritty funk, political poetry and blissful psych-folk.

1. Sugar Man
2. Crucify Your Mind
3. Cause
4. I Wonder
5. Like Janis
6. This Is Not A Song, It's an Outburst: Or, The Establishment Blues
7. Can't Get Away
8. I Think of You
9. Inner City Blues
10. Lifestyles - Sandrevan Lullaby
11. Street Boy
12. A Most Disgusting Song
13. I'll Slip Away
14. Jane S. Piddy

Buy Your Copy at MusicRecordShop

No comments: