Friday, May 31, 2013

Music Record Shop Weekly

Welcome to the weekly feature (look for it every Friday) called MusicRecordShop Weekly.   Here we take a look at new releases and some hard to find vinyl that will easily satisfy even the most serious record collectors.  Here are four vinyl deals that will get any record collectors attention. 

Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
(Vinyl 2-LP) (Import 2013)
The 6th studio album of Dream Theater is a concept album in its truest form. As the title implies, the albums contains six songs, each dealing with a facet of inner struggle. Themes like alcoholism, loss of faith and self isolation are dealt with in a true virtuoso manner. The second disc contains one 42-minute long song, divided over two sides, telling six stories about various mental illnesses like autism and schizophrenia. This album has never been issued on vinyl before - Music On Vinyl has the distinct honour to present this masterpiece on 180 gram audiophile vinyl!
  • Label Music On Vinyl
  • 180 Gram Vinyl Records - 2-LP - Sealed
  • First vinyl issue ever!
  • Insert
1. The Glass Prison
2. Blind Faith
3. Misunderstood
4. The Great Debate

1. Disappear
2. Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (part 1)
I. Overture
II. About To Crash
III. War Inside My Head
IV. The Test That Stumped Them All
3. Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence (part 2)
V. Goodnight Kiss
VI. Solitary Shell
VII. About To Crash (Reprise)
VIII. Losing Time / Grand Finale

Order At MusicRecordShop

Daft Punk - Random Access Memories
(Vinyl 2-LP) (Import 2013)
Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing includes download. 2013 album from the beloved Electronic French duo, their first proper studio album in eight years. In their 20-year history, Daft Punk have redefined Electronic music, pioneered the live dance concert experience and shaped Pop culture. Random Access Memories is Daft Punk's follow up to Human After All (2005). Random Access Memories is their most ambitious and epic release to date comprising 13 tracks and over 75 minutes long.
  • Label Sony
  • 180 Gram Vinyl Records - 2-LP - Sealed
  • Limited Edition
Track Listing
1. Give Life Back to Music
2. The Game of Love
3. Giorgio by Moroder
4. Within
5. Instant Crush
6. Lose Yourself to Dance
7. Touch
8. Get Lucky
9. Beyond
10. Motherboard
11. Fragments of Time
12. Doin' It Right
13. Contact
Order At MusicRecordShop

Black Sabbath - 13
Vinyl Record 2013 (PRE-ORDER 6-10)
The drum tracks on the album were laid down by RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE sticksman Brad Wilk following original drummer Bill Ward's decision to bow out of the reunion. Osbourne went on the BBC in England to discuss the band's new single, "God Is Dead?" and the inspiration behind the track. Ozzy explained, "I was in somebody's office and there was a magazine on a table and it just said, 'God Is Dead', and I suddenly thought about 9/11 and all these terrorist things and religion and how many people have died in the name of religion. When you think about the tragedy that's happened throughout time, it just came in my head. You'd think by now that their God would have stopped people dying in the name of, so I just starting thinking that people must be thinking, 'Where is God? God is dead' and it just hit me."
  • Release date: 06/10/2013
  • Merchant SKU: LAFVIG9609
  • Label Virgin EMI
  • Vinyl Record - LP - Sealed
Track Listing
1. End Of The Beginning (8:07)
2. God Is Dead? (8:54)
3. Loner (5:06)
4. Zeitgeist (4:28)
5. Age Of Reason (7:02)
6. Live Forever (4:49)
7. Damaged Soul (7:43)
8. Dear Father (7:06)
Order At MusicRecordShop


Limited edition box set of all albums to date on seven heavyweight vinyl double gatefold LPs plus a USB stick holding all 7 albums as high resolution WAV files.
1. Asleep In the Back - featuring the track 'Asleep In The Back' for the first time on vinyl
2. Cast of Thousands - currently out of press on vinyl, and first time it will be available as a double gatefold
3. Leaders of the Free World - currently out of press on vinyl, and first time it will be available as a double gatefold
4. The Seldom Seen Kid
5. Build A Rocket Boys!
6. Dead In The Boot
7. Live at Abbey Road - previously only available as a CD release and not available outside of this box set.
Order At MusicRecordShop

Musicology 101
Let's have a little fun, so here are some rock and roll nuggets so you can win at music trivia games and become a top musicologist!

While The Rascals' "People Got to Be Free" was perceived by some as being related to the assassinations of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert F. Kennedy, it was actually recorded before the latter's death. The song was written partly as a reaction to an ugly encounter when the band was threatened by a group of rednecks after their tour vehicle broke down in Fort Pierce, Florida.

In 1964, The Beatles topped the Cashbox Magazine record chart for sixteen straight weeks with four different songs. From January 25th until May 16th the Fab Four lead the best sellers list with "I Want To Hold Your Hand" (8 weeks), "She Loves You" (2 weeks), "Twist And Shout" (1 week) and "Can't Buy Me Love" (5 weeks). Their streak was interrupted by Louie Armstrong's "Hello Dolly" for one week before "Love Me Do" put them back on top for another week.

In 1967, a song called "Yellow Balloon" by a group of studio musicians billed under the same name, reached #25 on the Billboard Hot 100. The problem was that there was no actual band that could go on tour in support of the single or to record an album. Producer Ken Handler of Canterbury Records enlisted the help of Don Grady, a former Mouseketeer and better known as Robbie Douglas of the TV series My Three Sons, who put a band together and recorded a self-titled LP that is now considered a cult classic.

According to Guinness World Records 2009, Led Zeppelin hold the record for the "Highest Demand for Tickets for One Music Concert" as 20 million on-line requests were made for their December 10th, 2007 reunion show at The O2 Arena in London.

When Elvis bought Graceland for he and his parents to live in, he said he wanted to create "the most beautiful bedroom in Memphis" for his mother. Gladys, however had other priorities. She wanted to add a chicken coop and a hog pen.

The hit version of Neil Diamond's "Cherry, Cherry" has no drum track because it was recorded as a demo and was never intended to be released as a single. In later sessions, drums and horns were included, but none of those tracks turned out as well as the demo.

When Rupert Holmes wrote "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)", he originally wrote it as "If you like Humphrey Bogart and getting caught in the rain", before coming up with the final lyrics. He would later admit that at the time, he had never tasted a Pina Colada.

America reached #8 in the US with "Ventura Highway" in 1973. Although no such highway exists, there is a Ventura County in California and Highway 101 runs through it.

Although a tombstone inscribed with the name "Eleanor Rigby" stands in the graveyard of St. Peter's Parish Church in Woolton, Liverpool, just yards away from where Paul McCartney met John Lennon in 1957, Paul said he came up with the name Eleanor from actress Eleanor Bron, who had starred with the Beatles in the film Help!. Rigby came from Rigby & Evens Ltd, Wine & Spirit Shippers, the name of a store in Bristol. In 1984, Paul was quoted as saying "I just liked the name. I was looking for a name that sounded natural. Eleanor Rigby sounded natural."


No comments: