Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

from our friends at

ASG - Blood Drive

Relapse Records
28 May 2013

Release Dates
May 28, 2013 - N.America
May 27, 2013 - UK/World
May 24, 2013 - Germany, Benelux, Finland

ASG emerge from the sandy shores of North Carolina to deliver their fourth full length and Relapse debut ‘Blood Drive’, produced by Matt Hyde (Slayer, Fu Manchu).  Sun soaked groove heavy riffs that reference equal parts Torche and Queens of the Stone Age ‘Blood Drive’ is nothing short of anthemic.  ASG have toured the country relentlessly with the likes of Corrosion of Conformity, Weedeater and Black Tusk.  But what’s most remarkable about ‘Blood Drive’ is that any of its 12 instantly memorable songs could just as easily be FM radio smash hits.  What sets ASG apart from their swampy peers is singer/guitarist Jason Shi’s voice:  this is a set of songs that are truly SUNG by a guy who can actually SING.  ‘Blood Drive’ is a kick ass blast of sun that elevates ASG to the level of some of their most well-regarded Relapse label-mates like Baroness and Mastodon.

Deluxe double LP vinyl comes with exclusive bonus song!

First Press

1000 x Black Standard Gram
500 x Green w/ Orange Splatter
500 x Red/Yellow w/ Green Splatter Mailorder Exclusive

100 x Clear (do not request clear)

Press Quotes:

"ASG have stumbled upon a goosebump-raising formula that combines the sludgiest swamps and the sunniest sunshine" - Revolver 4/5

"It's heavy, hummable, and as electric as its artwork." Allmusic

"a trip through ’90s alt-metal history with a dose of modern Sabbath-revival stonerism thrown in for good measure" - MetalSucks

Order Your Copy At Relapse


from the folks at

Mountains - Centralia

Mountains’ music is defined by slow builds, and subtle transformations, textures and melodic lines that evolve in a variety of ways to create grand soundscapes and acutely detailed compositions. For Centralia, the duo of Koen Holtkamp and Brendon Anderegg wrote and recorded in a way that mirrors the pace of their music. While the current trend in experimental music is towards hyper-prolificity, Mountains have taken their time on Centralia, resulting in an album that is as precise as it is boundless. Holtkamp and Anderegg approached the album layer by layer, throughout much of the record combining purely-acoustic recordings with purely-electronic sounds rather than using electronics to manipulate acoustic source material. Guitar, cello, organs, electric piano, and more are seamlessly combined with modular electronics, synthesizers and other sound sources. The result is a fully engrossing listen, always shifting focus between acoustic instruments, processed instruments and electronic sound.

Most of Centralia was recorded by Holtkamp and Anderegg at Telescope Recording in Brooklyn, with the exception of the side-long “Propeller” and “Liana,” which are recordings of live shows later augmented with additional instrumentation. The duo recorded, edited, and mixed everything themselves, creating a sonic and aesthetic continuity only achievable through such fastidious and insular methods. Be it the gently melodic acoustic guitar and keyboard of “Tilt” or the steady, subtle pulsating haze of “Living Lens,” the album is as sonically rich as it is compositionally diverse.
Centralia is the most fully realized Mountains album, it encompasses everything Mountains represents, from the analog electronic sound of Air Museum, to the gentle warmth and improvised grandeur of Choral. Mountains are utterly singular in their ability to combine such varied and complex sources into such delicately detailed songs of perceived simple pastoral ambience.

Double LP version includes a free download coupon. We've re-pressed Centralia in a limited quantity on BROWN VINYL. All mailorders will get brown-colored vinyl until we run out!

Buy it HERE


'Re-Animator' Soundtrack Vinyl Release

Waxwork Records is excited to release the original soundtrack to the 1985 horror film, RE-ANIMATOR. This limited release guarantees buyers the score on green 180 gram vinyl. A limited number of variant glow-in-the-dark vinyl will be randomly inserted.

Composed and conducted by Richard Band, the score has been specifically re-mastered for vinyl. LP sleeve includes composer notes by Richard Band and original photos of the actual 1985 recording session in Rome, Italy. This LP package includes a heavy duty jacket with a sleek matte laminate finish for added structure and a silky feel. Full LP package artwork (front and back cover, record sleeve, and vinyl center labels) created by Ghoulish Gary Pullin. Massive full color poster of cover art included. On sale July 1st, 2013.

Visit Waxwork Records for more information.


Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young 1974 Live Album Put Off Until Next Year


The Monkees Announce Summer 2013 Tour Dates


Stephen Stills, Kenny Wayne Shepherd Team Up for Blues Album


ZZ Top Getting Box Set of Their Warner Brothers Catalog


 Fleetwood Mac release Extended Play EP, first new music in 10 years


 Yes Considering New Album


Kiss Add U.S. Dates to 2013 Summer Run


Lou Gramm Says He May Reunite With Foreigner for Farewell Tour


album cover art of the day:

FREYA: New Album Cover Artwork Unveiled



GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 4/22 - 4/28, 2013

Vinyl Top 25:

1. Phoenix - Bankrupt!
2. Kurt Vile - Wakin On A Pretty Daze
3. Junip - Junip
4. Paramore - The Holiday Sessions 7"
5. Caitlin Rose - The Stand-In
6. Iron & Wine - Ghost On Ghost
7. Fall Out Boy - Save Rock N' Roll
8. White Fence - Cyclops Reap
9. Fuzz - Sleigh Ride 7"
10. Alt-J - An Awesome Wave
11. Mumford & Sons - Babel
12. Hotpipes - DUST
13. The Shouting Matches - Grownass Man
14. James Blake - Overgrown
15. Ashley Monroe - Like A Rose
16. The Black Angels - Indigo Meadow
17. Josh Rouse - The Happiness Waltz
18. Luella & The Sun - Luella & The Sun 10"
19. Pere Ubu - Live At The Longhorn
20. Dawes - Stories Don't End
21. Cold War Kids - Dear Miss Lonelyhearts
22. Alabama Shakes - Boys & Girls
23. Dawes - Nothing Is Wrong
24. Band Of Horses - Cease To Begin
25. The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds


a new friend of the CVR blog has some fantastic deals, check them out at


No comments: