Friday, May 10, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

Music Record Shop Weekly (Contest)  is still open to entries, so take a minute, you could win!


from our friends at (look for more from them next week!)

Four Tet. Rounds (Re-issue).

To coincide with its ten year anniversary, Domino is to reissue Four Tet’s seminal album, Rounds, on 13th May 2013. The reissue will feature the album as well as a live set from Copenhagen recorded near the time of the original release. Rounds will be available on 2 x CD (REWIGCD88), 2 x heavyweight LP featuring download codes plus the bonus disc on CD

Order at StormingTheBase


from our friends at

UNKIND: Reveal New Album Details

Pelon Juuret coming July 9th via Relapse Records

Finnish hardcore heroes UNKIND have revealed the album details for their upcoming sixth full-length entitled Pelon Juuret (Translation:  Roots of Fear). The album was recorded with producer Kari Nieminen at Noisecamp studios in Turku, Finland at the end of 2012.  Pelon Juuret continues in the direction of the group’s previous work, offering up a furious fusion of d-beat hardcore crossed with a highly creative touch of atmospherics —as if Mogwai made a record of Tragedy covers or From Ashes Rise were influenced by Explosions In The Sky. 

The album will be released on CD/LP/Digital via Relapse Records on July 9th in North America, July 8th in the UK / World, and July 5th in Germany, Benelux and Finland.  Pre-order packages are available via Relapse here.


By October 1969, things were radically different for The Monkees. Their NBC show had left prime time, Peter Tork had left the group, and Top 40 hits were no longer a sure thing. It was in this atmosphere that Micky Dolenz, Davy Jones and Michael Nesmith exerted more creative control to record THE MONKEES PRESENT . The resulting album is one of the group's most varied, from the iconic single, "Listen To The Band," to Micky's anti-war anthem, "Mommy And Daddy," Davy's lush "French Song," and Michael's Nashville-tinged barn-burner, "Good Clean Fun."

Strictly limited to 5,000 individually numbered boxes, the newly re-mastered and expanded THE MONKEES PRESENT is the latest release in Rhino Handmade's lavish Monkees boxed sets. Packed with a whopping 85 tracks (60 previously unreleased!) over 3 CD's, Monkees historian and reissue producer Andrew Sandoval has raided the vault, pulling previously unheard songs, alternate versions and backing tracks from the original master tapes. THE MONKEES PRESENT also includes an exclusive bonus 7" vinyl single for "Good Clean Fun (Alternate Mix)" b/w "Mommy and Daddy (Mono Mix)" in a picture sleeve.

THE MONKEES PRESENT ships in late July, but is available now for pre-order exclusively at This box is not available from any store or other online retailer and is sure to sell out, so reserve your copy now HERE.

Please note: The release date 7/30/13 is not yet finalized and subject to change. You will be notified if there is a delay in the arrival date for your product. Cover art is not final and may change.


R.E.M. Reflect on 'Green' on the Album's 25th Anniversary


Jack White's Third Man Records to Release Gatsby Soundtrack on Gold and Platinum Discs


Popular Rolling Stones Bootleg Getting Box Set Release


U.K. College Offering Two-Year Course In Heavy Metal



GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 4/29 - 5/05, 2013

 Vinyl Top 25:

1. The Replacements - Songs For Slim
2. The Weeks - Dear Bo Jackson
3. Phoenix - Bankrupt!
4. Goat - World Music
5. James Wallace & The Naked Light - More Strange News From Another Star
6. Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun
7. Kurt Vile - Wakin On A Pretty Daze
8. Phosphorescent - Muchacho
9. Bon Iver - For Emma Forever Ago
10. Songs: Ohia - Hecla & Griper
11. Mumford & Sons - Babel
12. Alabama Shakes - Boys & Girls
13. Fleet Foxes - Helplessness Blues
14. The Black Keys - The Big Come Up
15. !!! - Thr!!!er
16. Caitlin Rose - The Stand-In
17. Guided By Voices - English Little League
18. Akron/Family - Sub Verses
19. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away
20. White Fence - Cyclops Reap
21. D Watusi - Dark Party
22. Charles Bradley - Victim Of Love
23. James Blake - Overgrown
24. Steve Martin & Edie Brickell - Love Has Come For You
25. The Black Keys - Rubber Factory

No comments: