Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

from our friends at

Pre-Order of Montreal The Sunlandic Twins Picture Disc

From theatrical live performances to eye-popping album artwork, of Montreal has always been as much about what you see as what you hear.

And now, the band's visual and musical dimensions are even more closely linked on this beautiful picture disc edition of their beloved 2005 album, The Sunlandic Twins.

Here, the record itself serves as the showcase for David Barnes' iconic imagery and Kevin Barnes' superlative songwriting. And it has never looked or sounded better.

Featuring of Montreal favorites such as "Wraith Pinned to the Mist," "Oslo in the Summertime," "So Begins Our Alabee," and many more, this landmark album will only be available on picture disc via this one-time, limited edition pressing of 535 numbered copies.

Over half of the pressing is already sold, so if you want one -- pre-order now!

Pre-Order HERE


Pre-order Death Cab For Cutie, Brett Nelson

Electronic Anthology Project Of Death Cab For Cutie 7 Inch

Ben Gibbard (Death Cab For Cutie) & Brett Nelson (Built To Spill) re-imagine 2 Death Cab songs as New Wave circa 1982, in the latest installment of The Electronic Anthology Project. Brett re-works the instrumental track with synthesizers & drum machine & Ben contributes new vocals. Features "Soul Meets Body (Plans)" & "Champagne from A Paper Cup (Something About Airplanes)." (ltd ed color vinyl 7")

Pre-Order HERE


For immediate release:

The Stanleys Release Kid’s Gonna Rock Vinyl, Tour Dates

Just in time for summer, The Stanley’s are at it again, bringing the world the pop-heavy Kid’s Gonna Rock 7” Vinyl split with fellow power popsters The Mynd Gardners to be released worldwide on July 1st, produced by Ken Stringfellow (REM) and Andy Lawson (Eskimo Joe).

Exuding a sense of freedom echoed by the bands musical journeys around the world, the high-energy title track, “Kid’s Gonna Rock,” is an upbeat pop anthem with driving guitar and an addictive chorus that has recently been added to Harmonix’s Rock Band for XBOX 360.

With the summer of 2012 came The Stanleys’ infectious debut offering, the “Always-EP”, receiving praise from a budding community of fans and spinning on medium to high rotation on US college Radio and London’s Radio 2. They rode the wave of the ‘Always – EP’ success, playing all over the world including the prominent CMJ, NXNE, and the world’s largest festival, Summerfest.

The Stanleys are taking on the world again this July for the KID’S GONNA ROCK TOUR in support of their Kid’s Gonna Rock 7” Vinyl, with dates in the US, Europe, China, and Australia. The world better watch out because these kids are gonna rock!

Pressed on gorgeous purple vinyl. Includes their tracks "Misinterpreted" and "Recharge Your Mind" (download code for these included with vinyl).

Order HERE


Vinyl-only public library opens in London - The volunteer-run Vinyl Library is stocked exclusively by donations


Bob Dylan’s electric guitar from Newport Folk Festival 1965 is for sale


Kiss Poster Sells for More Than $3,000


like all lists on the net, certainly up for debate.  But how can you not include "lodi" is beyond me...

Top 10 Creedence Clearwater Revival Songs


GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 6/24 - 6/30, 2013

Vinyl Top 25:
1. The National - Trouble Will Find Me
2. Jason Isbell - Southeastern
3. Mavis Staples - One True Vine
4. The Shins - Live At Third Man
5. The Kills - Live At Third Man
6. Boards Of Canada - Tomorrow's Harvest
7. Daughter - If You Leave
8. Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires Of The City
9. Smith Westerns - Soft Will
10. Townes Van Zandt - In The Beginning
11. Queens Of The Stone Age - Like Clockwork
12. Cooper - Motown Suite
13. Bass Drum Of Death - Bass Drum Of Death
14. Public Image Ltd - Public Image
15. Sigur Ros - Kveikur
16. D Watusi - Dark Party
17. Della Mae - This World Oft Can Be
18. Rose Windows - Sun Dogs
19. Alt-J - An Awesome Wave
20. Ray Lamontagne - Trouble
21. Peter Buck - You Must Fight To Live On The Planet Of The Apes 7"
22. The Allman Brothers - Brothers & Sisters
23. Big Star - Nothing Can Hurt Me
24. Jane's Addiction - Live In NYC
25. The Features - The Features


No comments: