Friday, September 27, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

from our friends at MusicRecordShop

Bruce Springsteen - Live At The Main Point 1975 4-LP Import 2012 (Clear Vinyl)


The words 'legendary', 'seminal' and 'classic' are very often over-used in the heated hyperbole that surround rock concerts in general and Bruce Springsteen gigs in particular. They lead to overblown phrases such as "essential for every fan" and one of his greatest ever shows. This recording of a concert Bruce and the E-Street Band played in Philadelphia in February 1975 really is that of a legendary Springsteen show, a seminal moment in his career, a classic performance and an essential part of any fan's library of The Boss work. This is one of his greatest ever performances. 


Label: Let Them Eat Vinyl
140 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP Box Set - 4 LPs Sealed
Colored Vinyl - Clear

1. Intro
2. Incident On 57th Street
3. Mountain Of Love
4. Born To Run
5. The E Street Shuffle
6. Wings For Wheels (Thunder Road)
7. I Want You

8. Spirit In The Night
9. Shes The One
10. Growin Up
11. Its Hard To Be A Saint In The City
12. Jungleland
13. Kittys Back

14. New York City Serenade
15. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
16. 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)

17. A Love So Fine / Shout
18. For You
19. Back In The USA
20. Thunder Road*
21. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out*
22. Pretty Flamingo*
23. Backstreets*

* Live at The Roxy, Hollywood, CA. (10/17/1975)

Get your copy at MusicRecordShop


new releases from our friends at MusicOnVinyl

Blind Boys Of Alabama - I'll Find A Way

I'll Find a Way represents a strong new chapter for the Blind Boys of Alabama, whose career stretches back more than seventy years. Formed in the late 1930s at the Alabama Institute for the Negro Blind in Talladega, the group has harmonized throughout the turbulent twentieth century and well into the twenty-first. They have enjoyed some of their biggest successes in the last ten years, during which they've won five Grammys, four Gospel Music Awards and multiple invitations to sing at the White House.

Produced by Justin Vernon (Bon Iver, Kathleen Edwards), I'll Find A Way is a unique collaboration between one of popular music's longest-running acts and one of its fastest-rising stars. Known primarily for his work in the indie and folk realms, the Bon Iver frontman proved a perfect fit to work with the Blind Boys, exhibiting a deep knowledge and appreciation of gospel music.

I'll Find a Way features some of the Blind Boys' most fervent vocals as well as contributions by a new generation of Blind Boys fans - Sam Amidon, Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond, Merrill Garbus of tUnE-yArDs, Casey Dienel of White Hinterland, Patty Griffin, and Justin Vernon himself. The result is a rousing collection of gospel songs, new and old, that address life's most desperate hours but also savor the triumphs and reassurances of faith.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert
  • Download code
  • First pressing of 1000 hand numbered copies on crystal clear vinyl!

Bryan Ferry Orchestra - Great Gatsby


This release features Jazz recordings of the 2013 film soundtrack The Great Gatsby. In addition to 11 tracks from The Bryan Ferry Orchestra, this soundtrack also features music from Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong and Irving Aaronson & His Commanders - and features inspired takes on "Empire State Of Mind", "100$Bill", "Back To Black", "Love Is The Drug" and more.

A 20-page booklet expands on the superb tracklisting with small stories and quintessential Roaring Twenties memorabilia. The first pressing comes in a limited hand numbered coloured vinyl issue!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • 20-page booklet
  • First pressing of 1.000 hand numbered copies on transparent blue vinyl

Earth, Wind & Fire - Now, Then & Forever

We're proud to announce the release of the new album Now, Then & Forever by the legendary group Earth, Wind & Fire. This marks the group's first new studio album in eight years.

'Now, Then & Forever is really about the legacy of Earth, Wind & Fire', said co-founder Philip Bailey.  'The spirit of the band has always been about uplifting the consciousness of humanity.  There's a hope that this Earth, Wind & Fire music will go on forever.' 'Without the support of the fans around the world, the Earth, Wind & Fire journey would not have been possible' says co-founder Verdine White.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Printed innersleeve
  • New album for 2013!

Los Lobos - How Will The Wolf Survive

Produced by T-Bone Burnett, the major breakthrough of Los Lobos' How Will The Wolf Survive? was a launching pad for the tried & true sound of these Latin American musical heroes.

Honing their craft in '70s L.A. by doing loads of weddings and dance gigs, they incorporated Rock into their Mexican sound which resulted in a Pop staple of legendary proportions. The band switch easily between Rockers like "Don't Worry Baby" and "A Matter Of Time" and modern Mexican evergreens "Corrida #1" and "Serenata NorteƱa."
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Available on vinyl for the first time since its original release 


from our friends at StormingtheBase

Marsheaux - Inhale (Limited) 2LP (Translucent Blue)

Artoffact Records re-issues Inhale on double-vinyl with all-new cover art and three previously unreleased bonus tracks. The vinyl comes in two editions, audiophile black and a limited (100 copies worldwide) translucent blue for collectors.

"I do have a soft spot for Marsheaux," Andy McCluskey of OMD has been quoted as saying, and no doubt the Greek synthpop duo have garnered many accolades in their 10 year career. Marianthi Melitsi and Sophie Sarigiannidou have indeed taken Europe's synthpop scene by storm over four albums and high-profile remixes. The Human League played their track "What a Lovely Surprise" in the pre-show music for the Steel City tour; the duo were commissioned to do an official remix for OMD; and Tom Robinson and Stuart Maconie (BBC Radio 6 hosts) have praised their work.

2013 saw the release of Inhale, Marsheaux's most accomplished and successful record to date, and the duo's fourth full-length. With top marks from the likes of Vancouver's V-Rag Magazine and Collapse Board's Everett True, Inhale is a glorious synthpop record, one of 2013's best.

We expect this product in stock on December 3rd.

Pre-order at StormingTheBase


cool story:

Toad Hall marks 40 years of vinyl, books and comics in Rockford


are you old enough to remember this show (i am and it was a thrill to stay up late to watch it!)

40 Years Ago: ‘Don Kirshner’s Rock Concert’ Debuts

No comments: