Monday, February 3, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

still taking entries until the end of the week for the SoundStageDirect Led Zeppelin Vinyl Contest


from our friends at MusicOnVinyl

Depeche Mode Catalog Reissued On Vinyl

'Enjoy the silence!' Yes, that's right, throughout this winter and spring BMG, in partnership with Music On Vinyl, will reissue the back catalog of Depeche Mode on vinyl.

Started back in 1980, Depeche Mode quickly made a name for themselves in the world of Pop, Rock, New Wave and Electronic music. Still selling out arenas all over the world, Dave Gahan, Martin Gore and Andrew Fletcher are responsible for one of the most unique catalogues in popular music.

From their debut album Speak & Spell through last year's Delta Machine, the band never plays by the book and always stays true to themselves. This has resulted in major hit singles like "Just Can't Get Enough", "People Are People", "Master And Servant", and "Walking In My Shoes", and culminated in the album Violator that produced massive worldwide hits like "Enjoy The Silence" and "Personal Jesus".

Starting on February 3rd with the albums Some Great Reward, Music For The Masses, Songs Of Faith And Devotion and Black Celebration, the trail of releases continues on March 24 with A Broken Frame, Ultra, Construction Time Again and Violator and ends on May 28 with Speak And Spell, Exciter, Playing The Angel and Sounds Of The Universe.

The albums will come in glossy gatefold sleeves with thick slabs of 180 gram black audiophile vinyl, all containing inserts and liner notes.


In 1971, Grand Funk Railroad were the pinnacle of American Rock 'n Roll, selling out arenas of ecstatic fans all over the United States. This no-nonsense band from Michigan defined the sound of early working class Hard Rock groups with their over-the-top sound, Mark Farner's heavy riffing, hard-hitting bass lines of Mel Schacher and intricate funky drums of Don Brewer.

The Live: The '71 Tour recordings were made during ecstatic performances in Chicago, Detroit and New York's Shea Stadium. Highlights include the 15-minute Animals cover "Inside Looking Out", taking up the whole C-side, a blistering cover of The Stones' "Gimme Shelter" and the Grand Funk classic "Footstompin' Music".

What's more; this release has never been issued on vinyl before!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • Insert
  • Available on vinyl for the first time!


These Milwaukee rockers were the sound of troubled adolescent America in the '80s, releasing great albums filled with teenage angst en rebellious behaviour. After a three year period of absence, the group resurfaced in 1989 with 3, their fourth album.

Reconnecting with their original fanbase but expanding on their sound at the same time, 3 was the result of a band that was growing in their ambition and artistry. Gordon Gano, Brian Ritchie and Victor DeLorenzo called in the help of Peter Balestrieri on baritone sax and Sigmund Snopek II on keys. We've included a lyric sheet for good measure.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl 
  • Insert

from our friends at PolyVinylRecords

Pre-Order Pillar Point Pillar Point CD/LP/Tape

On Pillar Point's self-titled debut album, the moody, melancholy electronica is the work of Throw Me the Statue founder Scott Reitherman.

Far more intimate than anything he's done previously, Reitherman's personal struggles add lyrical depth to dance floor-ready beats and textures that "...[splice] M83 and Washed Out with glorious results" (The Line of Best Fit).

You'll certainly agree with this description after checking out a few tracks, including "Eyeballs," "Cherry," and "Diamond Mine," via  Soundcloud.

Pre-orders for Pillar Point will be shipping soon, so pick up a copy of the Early Bird Edition 180-Gram Yellow vinyl (limited to 300).

The album, which is also available on CD and black tape, hits stores February 25.

Pre-Order Pillar Point Pillar Point 180-Gram Yellow LP at PolyVinylRecords


from our friends at SlyVinyl

Typhoon – Hunger & Thirst // Limited Edition Orange Vinyl LP

The Spires – Eternal Yeah // Limited to 150 Clear Vinyl LP


excellent article, well worth the time to read - from our friends in canada:

The rise of vinyl and why records sound ‘warm’ - This year the major labels get back on board with analog technology in a big way


Toronto record label makes old disco new again


nice write up from the great state of kansas:

q&a | Sherman Breneman, owner of the Vinyl Market


cool project:


Norwegian rock bands Bigbang, Raga Rockers, Skambankt, Rumble in Rhodos and Atlanter have all teamed up for a pretty unique project. The bands share the notion that there are too many plastic toy guitars around today, but not enough vinyl releases.

Under the moniker Guitars need Heroes, the bands and leading Scandinavian retailer of musical instruments and music equipment 4Sound offer music lovers to donate plastic toy guitars, like the ones supplied with Guitar Hero and Rock Band games, which in turn will be melted into new vinyl releases.

The aim of the project is to encourage aspiring guitarists to start out with real six strings rather than plastic buttons on a fake guitar. Plastic guitar donors are offered substantial discounts on real guitar purchases at the 4Sound stores. The project also includes a vinyl release with all participating bands.

These unique records, all of which will be pressed by Northern Record Pressing, will be limited to 1,000 numbered copies on one sided transparent gray vinyl with multi-coloured splatter from the crushed up plastic toy guitars. The vinyl also includes a booklet with complete lyrics and guitar chords for all the songs.


Raga Rockers – Desperado Bigbang – Magic Hour Skambankt – Voodoo Rumble in Rhodos – Eternal Seesaw (Live) Atlanter – Kaktos

Short promotional video:



from our friends at

Top 10 Heavy Metal Vinyl Records at MusicRecordShop

1. Temple Of The Dog - Temple Of The Dog (2-LP)
2. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats - Blood Lust
4. Saxon - Denim & Leather
5. Slayer - Reign In Blood
10. Sabaton - Carolus Rex (2-LP)


from our friends at

Top 10 Albums – February 3, 2014

Here are the Top 10 Albums sold at ShopRadioCast for the week of January 28 – February 3, 2014:

New Releases / Pre Orders:

1. Kanye West – 808s & Heartbreak 2XLP + CD
2. My Chemical Romance – May Death Never Stop You 2XLP + DVD
3. Cold War Kids – Robbers & Cowards LP
4. Chuck Ragan – Till Midnight LP
5. Blink 182 – Take Off Your Pants and Jacket LP & 3×7″
6. The Juliana Theory – Love 2XLP
7.  Beth Orton – Central Reservation 2XLP
8. Coil / Nine Inch Nails – Recoiled LP
9. Chuck Ragan – Non Typical 7″
10. Various Artists – Mad Men: On The Rocks Soundtrack (Import) LP

Back Catalog:

1. Brand New – The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me 2XLP
2. The Bouncing Souls – How I Spent My Summer Vacation LP
3. Brand New – Your Favorite Weapon LP
4. Bad Religion – Against the Grain LP
5. Blink 182 – They Came To Conquer Uranus 7″
6. Saves The Day – Stay What You Are LP
7. Frank Turner – England Keep My Bones LP
8. The Wonder Years – Manton Street 7″
9. The Wonder Years – Suburbia I’ve Give You All And Now I’m Nothing LP
10. Rival Schools – Found LP


Watch Footage of Sculpture’s New Zoetrope Vinyl


No comments: