Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

Metallica 'Death Magnetic' (Deluxe Edition) On Sale

The deluxe vinyl edition consists of five 45-RPM LPs. 180-gram black vinyl in a Stoughton box that includes a lithograph as well as a bonus audio CD. Just as U2 re-embraced their essential U2-ness post-Pop, this album is Metallica becoming Metallica again - specifically, the epic, speed-obsessed version from the band's template-setting trilogy of mid-Eighties albums: Master of Puppets, Ride the Lightning and, especially, the progged-out And Justice for All. That much is clear from the 90-second mark of Death Magnetic's first track, "That Was Just Your Life," where the band unleashes a barrage of James Hetfield's dutta-duh-duhnt riffing and Lars Ulrich's octuple-time double-bass-and-snare smashing. That long-vanished sound, as essential to Metallica as variations on the "Start Me Up" riff are to the Stones, is all over the album - you wonder how these fortysomething dudes are going to handle playing it live night after night. (Enter chiropractor.)

Order HERE


Pre-Order Barbara Lynn 'Here Is Barbara Lynn' on 180 gram Vinyl Via LightInTheAttic

To be a woman singing your own blues and soul songs in 1960s Texas was a rare thing. To do so while brandishing a left-handed Stratocaster and bashing out hard-edged licks was even rarer. Yet that’s just what Barbara Lynn did, inspired by Guitar Slim, Jimmy Reed, Elvis Presley and Brenda Lee. And it was a hit: her 1962 debut single, “You’ll Lose A Good Thing,” recorded with session musicians including Dr. John, gave her an R&B chart Number One and a Billboard chart Top 10 hit.

The success of that single took Lynn out on the road with the likes of Stevie Wonder, Gladys Knight, BB King, Supremes, Chuck Berry, Guitar Slim, and The Temptations. BB King even wrote a letter to Lynn’s mother to tell her what a talented daughter she’d raised. She appeared at the Apollo Theater, she was twice on American Bandstand, and one of her songs, “Oh Baby (We’ve Got A Good Thing Goin’)” was covered by The Rolling Stones.

Though she was a precocious performer, hers is a talent that came to full bloom on Here Is Barbara Lynn, her 1968 album produced by Huey P. Meaux and originally released on Atlantic Records. The record was conceived as an introduction of Lynn’s prodigious talents, her deeply felt guitar playing, her gutsy soulful singing skills, and her songwriting prowess. It collected her early hit and a raft of new songs, each packed with Lynn’s passion and fire. Yet the introduction to her world–now reissued by Light In The Attic–largely proved to be her swansong. She married in 1970, aged 28, had three children, and largely retired from the music industry for most of the ‘70s and ‘80s. Now touring again, she’s amused to think of her 46 year-old album gaining new fans. “I hear this album, and it seems like… it seems like the old times to me,” she says. "I don’t know, it’s strange to know it’s coming out again. It is going to be a wild, first time thing for me, like going back in time. But I’m excited to see what happens.”

•24bit / 96kHz remastering from original 1/4” tapes
•Liner notes by Jessica Hundley interviewing Barbara, plus rare archive photographs
•180gram LP housed in an expanded deluxe Stoughton gatefold “Tip-On” jacket

Available: October 28, 2014

Pre-Order at LightInTheAttic


Sub Pop to Reissue Pre-Shins Band Flake Music's "When You Land Here, It’s Time to Return"

The Shins have left an indelible mark on the history of music, but before The Shins, James Mercer founded Flake Music in Albuquerque, New Mexico in 1992 with Neal Langford on guitar, Phil Higgs and then Marty Crandall on bass and Jesse Sandoval on drums.  Flake Music was a collaborative affair with each member contributing to the songwriting process. From 1992 to 1997, Flake Music released several singles before releasing When You Land Here, It's Time To Return in 1997. Upon the album’s release, Flake Music began touring largely due to support from Modest Mouse, amongst other bands. The rest, as they say, is history (Oh, Inverted World, Chutes Too Narrow, Wincing the Night Away, Port of Morrow, Broken Bells, et cetera).

Now, in 2014, Sub Pop is exceedingly proud to reissue this somewhat forgotten, but important record. Pre-order When You Land Here, It's Time To Return, from Sub Pop on vinyl here, and receive the limited, colored-vinyl Loser Edition of the record on orange vinyl. Also, all pre-orders receive an instant download of the track “Spanway Hits” and access to a full-album stream 1-month prior to street date!


Job for a Cowboy to Release "Sun Eater" November 11th

Job for a Cowboy have wrapped up music and art on their fourth full length album, "Sun Eater." Along with producer Jason Suecof, vocalist Jonny Davy, guitarists Al Glassman and Tony Sannicandro, bassist Nick Schendzielos, and session drummer Danny Walker have crafted a cerebral and accomplished piece of technical death metal. Job for a Cowboy wrapped up touring in 2013 as part of the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival that summer. Following that performance, the band collectively decided to sharpen their focus and set an intent on cooking up a record that encompassed their full dynamic range of talent. The group had all agreed on the main course being a desire for futuristic tones, a wider spectrum of textures and tempos, and an emphasis on slightly more ancestral song construction. The result, "Sun Eater," does not just sound like a new record, it sounds like an entirely new band.

Sun Eater will be available via Metal Blade Records on November 11th in North America and November 7th/10th in Europe/UK

 + Gatefold Vinyl
 + Limited Edition European Import

* Pre-Order: Expected to ship on or around November 6, 2014 *

Pre-Order at MetalBladeRecords


from our friends at SlyVinyl (look for their feed in the left column)

The Vaselines – V For Vaselines // Limited Signed Red Vinyl LPs + Bonus CD

Sable РKanto // Limited to 200 Red/White Split Vinyl 7" / Ltd. Ed. Pokémon Card


from our neighbors to the north:

Business an LP for niche-filling record man


Rollins Band’s debut album Life Time to be reissued on vinyl


Sammy Kershaw's George Jones Tribute Album Gets the Vintage Vinyl Treatment


Bruce Springsteen to Release Remastered Album Box Set - ‘Bruce Springsteen: The Album Collection Vol. 1 1973-1984’ will feature singer's first seven albums and is set for release this fall


GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 9/15 - 9/21, 2014

Vinyl Top 25 
1. Ryan Adams - Jacksonville 7"
2. Ryan Adams - Ryan Adams
3. Steelism - 615 To Fame
4. Sturgill Simpson - Metamodern Sounds In Country Music
5. Justin Townes Earle - Single Mothers
6. Shellac - Dude Incredible
7. Robert Plant - lullaby and... THE CEASELESS ROAR
8. Robyn Hitchcock - The Man Upstairs
9. Trampled By Turtles - Wild Animals
10. The Beatles - Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band MONO
11. Jack White - Lazaretto
12. Jason Isbell - Southeastern
13. Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes
14. The Lees Of Memory - Sisyphus Says
15. Phish - Picture Of Nectar
16. The War On Drugs - Lost In The Dream
17. Sturgill Simpson - High Top Mountain
18. The Head & The Heart - The Heard & The Heart
19. Allah-Las - Worship The Sun
20. Ty Segall - Manipulator
21. Interpol - El Pintor
22. Blake Mills - Heigh Ho
23. Lambchop - Live At XX Merge
24. Jenny Lewis - The Voyager
25. The Beatles - Revolver MONO  

No comments: