Friday, May 17, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

from our friends at

Austra - Olympia (2 LP+CD)

Label: Paper Bag

Olympia is an album of transformation. Though it has only been two years since Austra's 2010 debut Feel It Break, it presents a quantum evolution in the Toronto-based band’s sound, structure and style.

After three years of non-stop international touring with the likes of the XX, Grimes and the Gossip, when it came time to record Olympia, Austra had evolved into a complex collaborative effort between its six members. “Previously, I would flesh out songs before I brought them to the band, but this time I left them bare and let the others fill them in” explains Katie Stelmanis, the principal songwriter/vocalist.

Olympia is also the first confessional record for Stelmanis as evidenced by the heartfelt lyrics of piano driven lead single"Home". "Home" expresses the anxieties of waiting up all night for a lover to return. “I was mad and upset and the song just wrote itself,” says the singer. The album touches on a range of sentiments that stem from a relationship ending, a relationship beginning, and friends' struggles with addiction and motivation. Despite the sometimes dark lyrics written in collaboration with band member Sari Lightman, Olympia is bubbly and buoyant— fundamentally a dance record, which Stelmanis says was the band's aim all along. “We are really into dense harmonies and big beautiful melodies, but I also love techno and dance music. I wanted to bring those elements together.”

We expect this item to be in stock on June 18, 2013

Pre-Order at StormingTheBase

Boards Of Canada - Tomorrow's Harvest (2 LP)

Label: Warp Records

The idolized and enigmatic duo are back. After considerable speculation by their rabid fan base (not to mention the media following every step of the way), Boards of Canada have revealed that their new album Tomorrow s Harvest will be released on June 11 via their long time home, Warp Records. Musically, the album is somehow dark yet positive, with atmospheric dissonance and mind-bending melodic creations.

Includes download card.

We expect this item to be in stock on June 11, 2013

Pre-Order at StormingTheBase

Remember, StormingTheBase Contest is ongoing, check the left margin for details!!


from our friends at

Mother Love Bone - Mother Love Bone 

When grunge took off in the early nineties, mainstream interest raised in a Seattle based band that had already ceased to exist but was very important in the formation process of Pearl Jam. Mother Love Bone was founded in 1988 by future Pearl Jam's guitarist Stone Gossard and bassist Jeff Ament as an outlet for their Punk and Glam urges – citing Aerosmith and Led Zeppelin as their main influences.

The band's promising career was primarily cut short by the tragic death of vocalist Andrew Wood in 1990, after having released just one EP called Shine. More material from studio recordings with Wood was released as the Apple album. Riding Pearl Jam's band wagon in 1992, Mother Love Bone was released as a combination of both releases – holding itself together as a seminal album with two bonus tracks: "Capricorn Sister" and "Lady Godiva Blues". First 1500 copies are pressed on heavy weight purple vinyl
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Poster / lyric sheet
  • First 1500 copies numbered & limited on purple vinyl
  • 2 bonus tracks
  • First vinyl issue ever!

MONDO/The Raid: Redemption Soundtrack on Limited Edition Vinyl
Mondo, the collectible art division of Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, is excited to announce the release of The Raid: Redemption Motion Picture Soundtrack on limited edition black vinyl with randomly inserted smokey grey vinyl discs.  The limited edition vinyl features the perfectly imposing artwork of Mondo artist Jock in stark shades of black and white along with music from the film by Joe Trapanese and Mike Shinoda. 
Joe Trapanese is most well known for his collaboration with Daft Punk on 2009's TRON: LEGACY soundtrack, as well as Mondo's most recent LP release of the soundtrack to OBLIVION.  Joe's work varies from television (DEXTER) to collaborations with M83 on their 2011 album "Hurry Up, We're Dreaming."

Mike Shinoda is perhaps best known as the principal songwriter, guitarist and rapper of Linkin Park.  He has a diverse musical background, producing tracks for everyone from Depeche Mode to Lupe
Fiasco. His collaboration with Joe Trapanese marks his first film score.
The Raid: Redemption vinyl will be available for purchase on May 24 at, follow @MondoNews on Twitter for the exact sale time.  Starting June 26th the limited edition vinyl will be available for purchase from select retail stores.

The Raid: Redemption is an Indonesian martial arts action film written and directed by Gareth Evans.  Set in an apartment block in Jarkarta's slums, The Raid: Redemption is a fast-paced, high-action thriller focused on a police raid aimed to kill a ruthless crime lord.  Released in 2012, the film has been hailed as a breakthrough in martial-arts films.


25 Years Ago: Judas Priest’s ‘Ram It Down’ Album Released


AC/DC Throws Support Behind BON SCOTT Statue Campaign


Eighties Synthpop Act Visage to Release First New LP in Nearly 30 Years


Huey Lewis on 30 Years of 'Sports': 'Our 15 Minutes Were a Real 15 Minutes'


Metallica Pinball Machine Revealed in New Video


Paul McCartney & Wings, ‘Wings Over America’ – Album Review


GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 5/06 - 5/12, 2013

Vinyl Top 25:

1. She & Him - Volume 3
2. Deerhunter - Monomania
3. Mikal Cronin - MCII
4. Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun
5. Various - Jean-Luc Godard: Bandes Originales 1959-1980
6. The Civil Wars - Unplugged On VH-1
7. Love - Black Beauty
8. Alabama Shakes - Boys & Girls
9. The Replacements - Songs For Slim
10. The Features - The Features
11. Phoenix - Bankrupt!
12. Dawes - Stories Don't End
13. Fitz & The Tantrums - More Than Just A Dream
14. Kacey Musgraves - Same Trailer Different Park
15. The Weeks - Dear Bo Jackson
16. Justin Townes Earle - Yuma 10"
17. Frightened Rabbit - Midnight Organ Fight
18. Appleseed Cast - Illumination Ritual
19. Bon Iver - For Emma Forever Ago
20. Savages - Silence Yourself
21. The Flaming Lips - The Terror
22. Shuggie Otis - Introducing Shuggie
23. Kings Of Leon - Rarely
24. David Bowie - The Next Day
25. Phosphorescent - Muchacho


No comments: