Friday, May 24, 2013

Vinyl Record News & Music Notes

Paul P. from NC is the winner in the Beware Of Mr. Baker DVD Contest  Enjoy the film!

Thanks to for providing the awesome prize!

Keep watching for more contests coming soon!


new vinyl releases from our friends at MusicOnVinyl

Dream Theater - Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence 

The 6th studio album of Dream Theater is a concept album in its truest form. As the title implies, the albums contains six songs, each dealing with a facet of inner struggle. Themes like alcoholism, loss of faith and self isolation are dealt with in a true virtuoso manner. The second disc contains one 42-minute long song, divided over two sides, telling six stories about various mental illnesses like autism and schizophrenia. This album has never been issued on vinyl before – Music On Vinyl has the distinct honour to present this masterpiece on 180 gram audiophile vinyl!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert
  • First vinyl issue ever!
 Stay tuned, as there are more Dream Theater albums coming up on MOV!

Govt Mule - Life Before Insanity

Life Before Insanity is Gov't Mule's fifth album, released in 2000 to great critical acclaim. Warren Haynes and Allen Woody formed a power trio with Matt Abts after leaving Southern Rock staple Allman Brothers Band.

Precious tracks on this album include the haunting title track, the powerful "Wandering Child", "No Need To Suffer" and "Lay Your Burden Down" (the latter two are featuring Ben Harper on vocals). The most hit sensitive track proved to be "Bad Little Doggie", a ZZ-Top like burner, which received lots of airplay.

Life Before Insanity was the last album featuring bassist Allen Woody, who tragically died just six months after its release. Finally, it's released on vinyl for the first time!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert
  • Released on vinyl for the first time!

Marvin Gaye - Midnight Love

Midnight Love was Marvin Gaye's final album, conceived in 1982 after a long recluse in Oostende, Belgium. Harmonious, sensual, uplifting and funky, Midnight Love became his swansong after Gaye went through a rough time, secluded from the mainstream and finding out where he belonged. We can safely say, it would be in the studio.

He wrote every song on Midnight Love himself, which culminated in the smash hit "Sexual Healing". A creative genius and trained multi-instrumentalist, Gaye played every instrument on the song himself, except for the guitar. We can only guess what gems Gaye would have produced in his later years, as his life was taken by his own father just 18 months later.
  •  180 gram audiophile vinyl
  •  insert

Alter Bridge - Blackbird 

2007's Blackbird marked the creative (and commercial) launch of Alter Bridge, the follow-up project to Rock radio's favorite Creed. After Creed's demise Mark Tremonti, Scott Phillips and Brian Marshall teamed up with singer Myles Kennedy, and formed Alter Bridge as an outlet for their creative energy. Kennedy contributed a considerable amount to the overall songwriting process of Blackbird, which resulted in a heavy, groovy and aggressive album.
Alternating acoustic interludes and hard-hitting choruses, the band's new found songwriting freedom resulted in a fresh start for this Florida based Rock band. The D-side contains a beautiful etched artwork - must be seen to believe!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • First vinyl issue ever!
  • Etched D - side

Uriah Heep - Live '73

Live 1973 is the definitive live recording of the classic Uriah Heep line up. Having found worldwide success by releasing a string of big hitting albums, the band toured extensively during the early '70s. The band was recorded before an ecstatic crowd in Birmingham, UK, delivering a set of heavy Rock classics with all volume knobs on 11. Featuring improvised jams, wailing organs and incredible guitar solos, Live 1973 is a double whammy of Uriah Heep classics and a testament to the band's legendary live performances. Songs like "Traveller In Time" and "Love Machine" literally burst out of the grooves. The record closes with a medley of Rock & Roll classics, seamed together like only the Heep can.
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Printed innersleeves

    10 CC - How Dare You
How Dare You (1976) is the fourth album by these British Art-Pop Rockers. Its brilliant cover art was designed by the recently deceased Storm Thorgersson of Hipgnosis. After attaining worldwide success with their hit "I'm Not In Love", 10cc returned with a varied set of songs, often tongue-in-cheek humor and eccentric songwriting. Hits "I'm Mandy, Fly Me" and "Art For Art's Sake" are little stories with wonderful poppy hooks and catchy choruses. This is 10cc at their creative peak!
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Insert

  a new vinyl record store in the great state of florida!

  Working on the First Coast: Deep Search Records goes old-school   with vinyl


  vinyl doing well in the great state of north dakota

  Local music shop sells vinyl, keeps 'Rhythm' alive


  Vinyl makes a comeback


  Bruce Springsteen: Springsteen & I documentary trailer  released


  Candlemass To Release 'Epicus Doomicus Metallicus - Live At  Roadburn 2011' Vinyl LP


  Richard Branson: I'm giving Danny Baker my record collection - Virgin Records mogul makes rash promise during Radio Times interview


  VH1 Classic's That Metal Show to Celebrate 100th Show During Twelfth Season


 Rush Frontman Says ROCK HALL Induction 'Was Quite An Emotional Evening'


I f You Like Steve Martin and Edie Brickell, Try Their Music as a Duet


Rare Early Led Zeppelin Acetate Sells for $3,600


Rock it Out! Blog: “The Worst Band Tattoos!”


7 Terrible Ideas For Robots From Heavy Metal Album Covers (PICTURES)


The 25 Best Punk Album Covers of All Time


25 Album Covers That Are Better As Animated GIFs


album cover art of the day:

 Album Artwork Unveiled By Thunder And  Lightning; Release Date Announced

German metal act Thunder And Lightning unveiled the album artwork for the band's fourth LP "In Charge of the Scythe." The album is set for release on August 23, 2013 via Hammersound Records. The cover art was created by comic artist Tyler Kirkham



GRIMEY'S BEST SELLERS 5/13 - 5/19, 2013

Vinyl Top 25:

1. Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires Of The City
2. The Features - The Features
3. R.E.M. - Green
4. She & Him - Volume 3
5. Savages - Silence Yourself
6. Deerhunter - Monomania
7. Phoenix - Bankrupt!
8. Ty Segall / Chad & The Meatbodies - split 7"
9. Brittany Howard & Ruby Amanfu - I Wonder 7"
10. The Lone Bellow - The Lone Bellow
11. Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes
12. Nick Drake - Bryter Layter deluxe boxed LP
13. Mikal Cronin - MCII
14. Sigur Ros - Agaetis Byrjun
15. Wild Nothing - Empty Estate
16. Kurt Vile - Wakin On A Pretty Daze
17. Pistol Annies - Annie Up
18. D Watusi - Dark Party
19. Dawes - Stories Don't End
20. Rilo Kiley - Rkives
21. Alt-J - An Awesome Wave
22. Copeland - Eat Sleep Repeat
23. Blind Willie McTell - Complete Recorded Works Vol. 2
24. Night Beds - Country Sleep
25. Foxygen - We Are The 21st Century...


and from our friends at TheOmegaOrder

No comments: